Basrayatha: The Story of a City (Paperback)
  • Basrayatha: The Story of a City (Paperback)
zoom

Basrayatha: The Story of a City (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
£7.99
Paperback 176 Pages / Published: 28/03/2008
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

"Basrayatha" is a literary tribute by author Muhammad Khudayyir to the city of his birth, Basra, on the Shatt al-Arab waterway in southern Iraq. Just as a city's inhabitants differ from outsiders through their knowledge of its streets and stories, so Khudayyir distinguishes between the real city of Basra and the imagined city he created through stories, experiences, and folklore. By turns a memoir, a travelog, a love letter, and a meditation, "Basrayatha" summons up a city long gone, yet which lives on in the memories and imaginations of its people. In the tradition of Calvino and Borges, Khudayyir's mesmerizing work itself illuminates and enriches the story of this magnificent city.

Publisher: Verso Books
ISBN: 9781844672332
Number of pages: 176
Weight: 245 g
Dimensions: 208 x 139 x 15 mm

You may also be interested in...

I Feel Bad About My Neck
Added to basket
Motherwell
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Pigeon Tunnel
Added to basket
Mercies
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Dear Reader
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings
Added to basket
Pravda Ha Ha
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Walden
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Boy
Added to basket
Boy
£6.99
Paperback
Patch Work
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Jeoffry
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Mystery of Charles Dickens
Added to basket
£17.99   £15.99
Hardback
Some Kids I Taught and What They Taught Me
Added to basket
Midnight Chicken
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Down and Out in Paris and London
Added to basket
Motherwell
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.