Basrayatha: The Story of a City (Paperback)
  • Basrayatha: The Story of a City (Paperback)
zoom

Basrayatha: The Story of a City (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
£7.99
Paperback 176 Pages / Published: 28/03/2008
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
"Basrayatha" is a literary tribute by author Muhammad Khudayyir to the city of his birth, Basra, on the Shatt al-Arab waterway in southern Iraq. Just as a city's inhabitants differ from outsiders through their knowledge of its streets and stories, so Khudayyir distinguishes between the real city of Basra and the imagined city he created through stories, experiences, and folklore. By turns a memoir, a travelog, a love letter, and a meditation, "Basrayatha" summons up a city long gone, yet which lives on in the memories and imaginations of its people. In the tradition of Calvino and Borges, Khudayyir's mesmerizing work itself illuminates and enriches the story of this magnificent city.

Publisher: Verso Books
ISBN: 9781844672332
Number of pages: 176
Weight: 245 g
Dimensions: 208 x 139 x 15 mm

You may also be interested in...

Beyond the Thirty-Nine Steps
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Boy
Added to basket
Boy
£6.99
Paperback
Where Shall We Run To?
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Wife's Tale
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Constellations
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
On Writing
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
L.E.L.
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
The Life and Rhymes of Benjamin Zephaniah
Added to basket
The Ministry of Truth
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Working
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Frieda
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Walden
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Down and Out in Paris and London
Added to basket
Faber & Faber
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.