• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
Basrayatha: The Story of a City (Paperback)
  • Basrayatha: The Story of a City (Paperback)
zoom

Basrayatha: The Story of a City (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
£7.99
Paperback 176 Pages / Published: 28/03/2008
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

"Basrayatha" is a literary tribute by author Muhammad Khudayyir to the city of his birth, Basra, on the Shatt al-Arab waterway in southern Iraq. Just as a city's inhabitants differ from outsiders through their knowledge of its streets and stories, so Khudayyir distinguishes between the real city of Basra and the imagined city he created through stories, experiences, and folklore. By turns a memoir, a travelog, a love letter, and a meditation, "Basrayatha" summons up a city long gone, yet which lives on in the memories and imaginations of its people. In the tradition of Calvino and Borges, Khudayyir's mesmerizing work itself illuminates and enriches the story of this magnificent city.

Publisher: Verso Books
ISBN: 9781844672332
Number of pages: 176
Weight: 245 g
Dimensions: 208 x 139 x 15 mm

You may also be interested in...

Appointment in Arezzo
Added to basket
Shakespeare
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Pigeon Tunnel
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Disappearance of Emile Zola
Added to basket
Walden
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Boy
Added to basket
Boy
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Molly Keane
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Diary of an Ordinary Schoolgirl
Added to basket
Prairie Fires
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Letter to My Mother
Added to basket
Going Solo
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
On Writing
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
A Life of My Own
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.