We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

Basrayatha: The Story of a City (Paperback)
  • Basrayatha: The Story of a City (Paperback)

Basrayatha: The Story of a City (Paperback)

,
£7.99
Paperback Published: 28/03/2008
  • In stock

We can send it to you within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Click & Collect From your local shop
"Basrayatha" is a literary tribute by author Muhammad Khudayyir to the city of his birth, Basra, on the Shatt al-Arab waterway in southern Iraq. Just as a city's inhabitants differ from outsiders through their knowledge of its streets and stories, so Khudayyir distinguishes between the real city of Basra and the imagined city he created through stories, experiences, and folklore. By turns a memoir, a travelog, a love letter, and a meditation, "Basrayatha" summons up a city long gone, yet which lives on in the memories and imaginations of its people. In the tradition of Calvino and Borges, Khudayyir's mesmerizing work itself illuminates and enriches the story of this magnificent city.

Publisher: Verso Books
ISBN: 9781844672332

You may also be interested in...

Your review has been submitted successfully.

View your review