Atomic Love (Paperback)
  • Atomic Love (Paperback)
zoom

Atomic Love (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
? RRP £8.99
£4.50
Save £4.49 (50%)
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 17/02/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The stunning novel about our fiercest loyalties, deepest desires and the power of forgiveness

'A highly-charged love story' DELIA OWENS, bestselling author of WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING

'This story has everything. Just thinking about it makes me feel that lovely feeling where your heart seems to skip a beat' 5***** Reader Review
________

Rosalind Porter's biggest mistake was love . . .

Chicago, 1950. Before Thomas Weaver broke her heart and wrecked her career, Rosalind was a leading atomic researcher. Five years on, she's alone and can barely make ends meet.

Which is when Thomas - a shattered man - walks back into her life, begging forgiveness. Rosalind would, and should, say no but for two reasons.

First, she still loves Thomas. And, second, Charlie Szydlo.

Charlie's a damaged FBI agent who believes Thomas is spying for Russia. He wants Rosalind to find evidence.

But this is a dangerous game. Who can she trust?

Thomas, who taught her how to love? Or Charlie, whose pain she yearns to heal?
________

'Love, espionage, and a heroine who carves a strong path in the world of men. There is nothing left to want' Ann Patchett

'An emotionally charged romance, perfect for fans of Paula McLain' Library Journal

'Taut and atmospheric' Chanel Cleeton, author of Next Year in Havana

READERS ARE ENTRANCED BY ATOMIC LOVE:

'There's real intensity between Roz and Wheeler and Roz and Charlie, you hardly dare to breathe . . . you can feel the growing emotional charge' 5***** Reader Review

'This story has everything. Just thinking about it makes me feel that lovely feeling where your heart seems to skip a beat' 5***** Reader Review

'The last few chapters are so very intense, punch in the air moments, me shouting 'yes!' Just pure magic!' 5***** Reader Review

'Espionage, love, betrayal - finely crafted cocktail of themes with sharp characters and beautifully written' 5***** Reader Review

'A phenomenal read - fundamentally a love story but so much more as well' 5***** Reader Review

'Pure pleasure all the way, managing to be both page-turning while pulling you in deep' 5***** Reader Review

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781405943703
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 277 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Science, love, espionage, and a heroine who carves a strong path in the world of men. There is nothing left to want - Ann Patchett

A highly-charged love story - Delia Owens, bestselling author of Where the Crawdads Sing

Brimming with espionage and passion, Atomic Love shines a light on the private lives of scientists involved with the Manhattan Project and the growing threat of nuclear Russia. Taut, atmospheric, and wholly immersive, Atomic Love is a thrilling read for historical fiction lovers - Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author of Next Year in Havana

Atomic Love is so propulsive that 'page-turner' doesn't do it justice...At the heart of it all is a brilliant, damaged woman determined to save herself and the whole human race. The world could not be in better hands - Margaret Renkl, author of Late Migrations

Atomic Love had me in its thrall from page one. How rewarding to follow these sympathetic, brilliantly drawn characters through their affairs of state and heart. Thank you, Jennie Fields, for this terrific, atmospheric, suspenseful and wholly gratifying read - Elinor Lipman, author of Then She Found Me and Good Riddance

A page-turning thriller that's also an exploration of the competing pressures on women that still resonates today. This one goes to the top of your pile - B. A. Shapiro, author of The Art Forger

Fields combines a paean to feminist empowerment with old-fashioned romance...atmospheric, historically interesting escapism - Kirkus Reviews

Fields creates authentic female characters teetering on the verge of the women's movement, struggling to claim their place in the world. Inspired by history, Fields' fifth novel is a love story filled with passion, betrayal, mystery, and liberation - Booklist

Full of intrigue and good old fashioned espionage, Fields has created a flawed and ferocious heroine in the intelligent Rosalind Porter. A captivating must-read with a cast of crafty characters so engaging I was sad to see it come to its glorious end - Noelle Salazar, author of The Flight Girls

The smart, warmhearted, and haunted heroine at the centre of Atomic Love is just one of the complex characters that enrich this imaginative page-turner. Field's sharp eye for detail never slows the action, but sensuously immerse the reader in time and place - Laura Moriarty, author of The Chaperone

Atomic Love lives up to its name - explosive and passionate, this is a story that you will not want to put down, and that will resonate long after it has ended. Fields has an unerring gift for recreating the past, and making it live and breathe like the present - Kitty Zeldis, author of Not Our Kind

A beautifully rendered love story entwined in a page-turning espionage thriller. Fields packs the pages of this wonderful novel with fascinating facts about the Cold War and characters that are complex and compelling. A must-read! - Anita Abriel, author of The Light After War

This involving novel deals with the dilemma faced by so many women of the time - Literary Review

A romantic spy thriller with an explosive twist - Peterborough Telegraph

You may also be interested in...

Possession
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The French Lieutenant's Woman
Added to basket
The Bridges Of Madison County
Added to basket
Maybe Someday
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The One You Really Want
Added to basket
Captive Prince
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
Hopeless
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
This Girl
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Ugly Love
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Losing Hope
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Giovanni's Room
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Point of Retreat
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Best of Daughters
Added to basket
The Devil Wears Prada
Added to basket
Lucy-Bookworm

“Promises more than it delivers”

Rosalind is a very clever scientist who worked on the Manhattan Project, the atom bomb. Her fellow scientist boyfriend at the time, Thomas Weaver, not only breaks her heart but ultimately led to her losing her job.
It... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Atomic Love by Jennie Fields”

Atomic Love by Jennie Fields is a book about the creation of the atom bomb during the Second World War and the scientists who helped create this weapon and what happened to them afterwards.
An fascinating look at the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: