Assembly (Hardback)
  • Assembly (Hardback)
zoom

Assembly (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 112 Pages
Published: 03/06/2021
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Raven Leilani and Jenny Offill, Brown’s incendiary debut investigates the stories we tell ourselves about race and class through the burgeoning realisations of a young Black British woman.  

Shortlisted for The British Book Awards 2022 Debut Book of the Year

Shortlisted for the Rathbones Folio Prize 2022

Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2022

Come of age in the credit crunch. Be civil in a hostile environment. Step out into a world of Go Home vans. Go to Oxbridge, get an education, start a career. Do all the right things. Buy a flat. Buy art. Buy a sort of happiness. But above all, keep your head down. Keep quiet. And keep going.

The narrator of Assembly is a Black British woman. She is preparing to attend a lavish garden party at her boyfriend's family estate, set deep in the English countryside. At the same time, she is considering the carefully assembled pieces of herself. As the minutes tick down and the future beckons, she can't escape the question: is it time to take it all apart?

Assembly is a story about the stories we live within - those of race and class, safety and freedom, winners and losers. And it is about one woman daring to take control of her own story, even at the cost of her life.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241515709
Number of pages: 112
Weight: 210 g
Dimensions: 204 x 138 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Natasha Brown's exquisite prose, daring structure and understated elegance are utterly captivating. She is a stunning new writer.' - Bernardine Evaristo, author of the Booker Prize-winning Girl, Woman, Other

'Bold and original, with a cool intelligence, and so very truthful about the colonialist structure of British society: how it has poisoned even our language, making its necessary dismantling almost the stuff of dreams. I take hope from Assembly, not just for our literature but also for our slow awakening.' - Diana Evans, author of the Women's Prize-shortlisted Ordinary People

'Diamond-sharp, timely and urgent... Written in a distilled, minimalist prose, Assembly is illuminating on everything from micro aggressions in the workplace, to the reality of living in the "hostile environment", to the legacy of British colonialism.' - The Observer, Best Debuts of 2021

'Assembly is brilliant. Virginia Woolf's Mrs. Dalloway meets Citizen by Claudia Rankine. Natasha Brown's ability to slide between the tiniest, most telling detail and the edifice of history, the assemblage of so many lives in so many times and places, is as breathtakingly graceful as it is mercilessly true.' - Olivia Sudjic, author of Asylum Road

You may also be interested in...

Love Marriage
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Old Babes in the Wood
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
A Fatal Crossing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
It Starts With Us
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Cleopatra and Frankenstein
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Someone Else's Shoes
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Elektra
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Wow!”

Assembly by Natasha Brown

Wow, just WOW!!!

I've just finished reading this and I really don't know how to convey how brilliant it is - I'm stunned!

Beautiful poetic writing - brief but packs an... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

“Astonishingly clever & sharp”

Astonishingly clever and sharp.

This is a very short novel, I read in one setting, but was completely absorbed by the observations and experiences of the narrator.

This unnamed black woman carries a huge toll of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

“WOW. Deserves all the praise”

I loved this stream of consciousness style novel from our unarmed narrator and her live as a successful Black British woman and how she is treated within society.

Looking at class, education, colonialism and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.