Assassin's Price (Hardback)
  • Assassin's Price (Hardback)
zoom

Assassin's Price (Hardback)

(author)
£21.99
Hardback 528 Pages / Published: 31/07/2017
  • In stock online
  • Free UK delivery

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Fans of L. E. Modesitt, Jr.'s, bestselling fantasy series the Imager Portfolio will be pleased with the latest novel in his new story arc. Six years have passed since the failed uprising of the High Holders against Rex Lorien. The man behind the conspiracy, High Holder Ryel, has been head of the council, where the rex and Maitre Alastarcan keep an eye on him. Charyn, eldest son of Lorien, has come of age and longs to better understand how Solidar has grown and changed so that he can become an effective rex. His father keeps much to himself, justifying his silence with "you've plenty of time." So Charyn decides to educate himself by learning all he can from factors, from craft masters, and from his father's advisors - circumspectly. When Jarolian privateers begin to disrupt Solidar's shipping, destroying ships and driving up the cost of goods, someone attempts to kill Charyn's younger brother. The threatening notes that follow in the wake of other acts of violence against the rex and his family demand action - build more ships or expect someone to die.

Publisher: St Martin's Press
ISBN: 9780765390479
Number of pages: 528
Weight: 736 g
Dimensions: 247 x 156 x 42 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Locus Bestseller List

"A master of world-building."--What's New in Book Reviews

"The series as a whole is exceptional. In fact, I am not sure whether I will nominate The Imager Portfolio or The Saga of Recluce for the Hugo's new Best Series award. Both series have moved fantasy forward."--SFRevu

"How satisfying it is to settle down with another long, solid novel by L.E. Modesitt, Jr."--SF Crowsnest

"The level of detail Modesitt brings to his world-building is, as always, both uncompromising and astonishing . . . one of the most complex depictions of the evolution of a fantasy universe ever."--Tor.com

"L.E. Modesitt, Jr. . . . His name alone makes the promise of engaging adventure, be it of the high fantasy or science fiction variety."--Mania

"With meticulously wrought characters and complex, logically developed plotting that towers above the fantasy norm." --Kirkus Reviews

You may also be interested in...

The Towers of the Sunset
Added to basket
Legacies
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Shape of Water
Added to basket
American Hippo
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Amberlough
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Witchmark
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Geek Feminist Revolution
Added to basket
The Adventure Zone
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Mongrel Mage
Added to basket
£21.99
Hardback
The Black God's Drums
Added to basket
Beneath the Sugar Sky
Added to basket
Karen Memory
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Armored Saint
Added to basket
£13.99
Hardback
Unwept
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Outcasts of Order
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.