Some orders may be delayed by the current Coronavirus lockdown.
Visit our help page for further information.
Arrowood and the Thames Corpses (Paperback)
  • Arrowood and the Thames Corpses (Paperback)
zoom

Arrowood and the Thames Corpses (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 02/04/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
A gripping historical crime novel, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom 'Crackles with energy and wit' The Times

South London, 1896.

William Arrowood, Victorian London's less salubrious private detective, is paid a visit by Captain Moon, the owner of a pleasure steamer moored on the Thames. He complains that someone has been damaging his boat, putting his business in jeopardy.

Arrowood and his trusty sidekick Barnett suspect professional jealousy, but when a shocking discovery is pulled from the river, it seems like even fouler play is afoot.

It's up to Arrowood and Barnett to solve the case, before any more corpses end up in the watery depths . . .

Praise for Mick Finlay:

'Another brilliant read from Mick Finlay . . . even better than [Arrowood]' B.A. Paris

'Astounding ... If you crave Victorian age murder mystery, love darkly gothic atmospheres and want your detective rather tattered and torn at the edges Arrowood is your man.' SHOTS

'Enthralling' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008324520
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 290 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Loved it - the sights, sounds, smells, and horrors of Victorian London are so vividly portrayed' Roz Watkins

'Mick Finlay's richly told story evokes the bustling all-encompassing worlds of CJ Samson and Charles Dickens. I loved it' Lesley Thomson

PRAISE FOR MICK FINLAY:

'Another brilliant read from Mick Finlay . . . even better than [Arrowood]' B.A. Paris

'gripping' Daily Telegraph

'astounding ... If you crave Victorian age murder mystery, love darkly gothic atmospheres and want your detective rather tattered and torn at the edges Arrowood is your man.' SHOTS

'Enthralling' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

'A gripping novel with an adept sense of place as well as a clear-eyed examination of the dark exigencies of human behaviour' Crime Time

'Arrowood is a flawed but engaging hero and the plot spins from peril to twist and back with real panache' The Times

'A fantastic creation' The Spectator

'Richly inventive' Daily Telegraph

'Compelling' Seattle Times

'Strongly reminiscent of Robert Galbraith's Cormoran Strike novels...a memorable detective who can stand among the best' Harrow Times

'Arrowood feels... like he's always existed, we're only now being treated to an introduction. Mick Finlay's atmospheric, detailed, singular London is a terrifying place I hope to return to again and again.' Ross Armstrong, bestselling author of The Watcher

'A book with enough warmth, charm, humour, and intrigue to signal the start of an excellent new series.' Vaseem Khan, author of The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

'Stunningly dark and atmospheric crime debut. This is a story that packs a powerful punch. With murder, intrigue, dark humour, compelling characters and an extraordinary backdrop, it's to be hoped that Arrowood is just the opener for a thrilling and original new series.' Lancashire Evening Post

You may also be interested in...

The Mobster's Lament
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nothing Ventured
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Traitors of Rome (Eagles of the Empire 18)
Added to basket
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Doll Factory
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Confessions of Frannie Langton
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Way of All Flesh
Added to basket
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Dark Fire
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Axeman's Jazz
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Murder of Harriet Monckton
Added to basket
Things in Jars
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Furies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blood & Sugar
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Smoke and Ashes
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“An absolute page turner ….”

The 3rd book in the series doesn’t disappoint. William Arrowood, the Victorian private detective still terribly envious of Sherlock Holmes’ profile and status, is hired by Captain Moon to investigate who is... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.