Ariadne (Paperback)
  • Ariadne (Paperback)
zoom

Ariadne (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 03/02/2022
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

A mesmerising retelling of the ancient Greek myth of Theseus and the Minotaur. Perfect for fans of CIRCE, A SONG OF ACHILLES, and THE SILENCE OF THE GIRLS.

'Here, Ariadne takes centre stage in a lyrical, insightful re-telling that explores her motivations and emotions and the grievances caused by grumpy, cold-hearted gods and warm-blooded men, who are equally vengeful and self-interested - Daily Mail

'The story is well known, of course, but Saint tells it skilfully and, like Miller and Haynes, gives a twist to familiar myth by offering the perspective of women characters' - The Sunday Times

As Princesses of Crete and daughters of the fearsome King Minos, Ariadne and her sister Phaedra grow up hearing the hoofbeats and bellows of the Minotaur echo from the Labyrinth beneath the palace. The Minotaur - Minos's greatest shame and Ariadne's brother - demands blood every year.

When Theseus, Prince of Athens, arrives in Crete as a sacrifice to the beast, Ariadne falls in love with him. But helping Theseus kill the monster means betraying her family and country, and Ariadne knows only too well that in a world ruled by mercurial gods - drawing their attention can cost you everything.

In a world where women are nothing more than the pawns of powerful men, will Ariadne's decision to betray Crete for Theseus ensure her happy ending? Or will she find herself sacrificed for her lover's ambition?

ARIADNE gives a voice to the forgotten women of one of the most famous Greek myths, and speaks to their strength in the face of angry, petulant Gods. Beautifully written and completely immersive, this is an exceptional debut novel
.

Praise for Jennifer Saint and ARIADNE:

'Exquisitely written and exceptionally moving, this is a mythical retelling to savour.' - Elodie Harper, author of THE WOLF DEN

'ARIADNE gives voice to the misused Princess of Crete who betrayed her father to save Theseus from the Minotaur. Relevant and revelatory.' - Stylist

'With her wonderfully executed debut that reimagines the classic tale of Theseus, Adriane and the Minotaur, Jennifer
Saint joins the likes of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker in forging mesmerising retellings of ancient Greek myths from a female perspective.' - Waterstones.com

'Saint's immersive novel thrusts the reader straight into the heart of Greek mythology with this wonderful reimagining of the story of Ariadne.' - iPaper

'What happens after the monster is defeated and the princess leaves with the hero? Jennifer Saint's ARIADNE is a shimmering tapestry of two sisters bound by deceit and the shadows of family history. . .With a fresh voice and keen insight, Saint adds flesh and bone to an ancient myth, drawing the reader into an uneasy world of ever-afters.' - Yangsze Choo, New York Times bestselling author of THE NIGHT TIGER

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472273901
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 41 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
ARIADNE gives voice to the misused Princess of Crete who betrayed her father to save Theseus from the Minotaur. Relevant and revelatory. * Stylist *
What happens after the monster is defeated and the princess leaves with the hero? Jennifer Saint's Ariadne is a shimmering tapestry of two sisters bound by deceit and the shadows of family history. One marries a hero, the other a god. As their lives criss-cross through girlhood and womanhood, the secrets that their husbands keep become a monstrous backdrop to their relationship. With a fresh voice and keen insight, Saint adds flesh and bone to an ancient myth, drawing the reader into an uneasy world of ever-afters. * Yangsze Choo, New York Times bestselling author of THE NIGHT TIGER *
With her wonderfully executed debut that reimagines the classic tale of Theseus, Adriane and the Minotaur, Jennifer Saint joins the likes of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker in forging mesmerising retellings of ancient Greek myths from a female -perspective. * Waterstones.com *
Saint's immersive novel thrusts the reader straight into the heart of Greek mythology with this wonderful reimagining of the story of Ariadne. * iPaper *
An ancient story of love and sisterhood reimagined, Jennifer Saint's ARIADNE is a truly masterful debut - compulsive, absorbing and lyrical. Saint breathes new life into the forgotten women of Greek mythology with a novel that's both incredibly absorbing, and full of heart. * Kate Lowe, author of THE FURIES *
In ARIADNE, Jennifer Saint places women centre stage. It is a beautiful exploration of the bond of sisterhood, the challenges of womanhood and the desire to forge one's own destiny in a world dominated by the will of heroes and gods. Utterly absorbing and brought to life in lyrical prose, ARIADNE is a joy from start to finish. * Elizabeth Lee, author of CUNNING WOMEN *
Saint's enchanting debut retells the myth of the minotaur through the eyes of Ariadne . . . As the women navigate their changing positions of power, they court disaster at the hands of both gods and men. Saint expertly highlights how often the women of this world pay the price for the actions of the men around them. Lovers of mythology should snap this up. * Publishers Weekly *
In a world ruled by temperamental, petulant gods, Ariadne is a shining beacon of female strength and courage - making this a story that's impossible to forget. * Culturefly *
The story is well known, of course, but Saint tells it skilfully and, like Miller and Haynes, gives a twist to familiar myth by offering the perspective of women characters * The Sunday Times *
Here, Ariadne takes centre stage in a lyrical, insightful re-telling that explores her motivations and emotions and the grievances caused by grumpy, cold-hearted gods and warm-blooded men, who are equally vengeful and self-interested * Daily Mail *
If you like Madeline Miller's Circe and Song of Achilles, you will eat up Ariadne, a retelling of yet another engrossing and horrifying classic Greek myth . . . Saint makes it a page-turner * Glamour *
Exquisitely written and exceptionally moving, this is a mythical retelling to savour. * Elodie Harper, author of THE WOLF DEN *

You may also be interested in...

Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Black Moth
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Siege Of Krishnapur
Added to basket
Dan at Cribbs Causeway Store

“Let me tell you a story....”

As Princesses of Crete and daughters of the fearsome King Minos, Ariadne and her sister Phaedra grow up around the monstrosity that is the Minotaur, who also happens to be their brother...
When Theseus, Prince of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

“A Must Read... A New Favourite”

I had such high expectations for this book.. it exceeded each and every one of them more than I can describe. Jennifer and her publicist were kind enough to send me an ARC for a honest review, and I loved this book... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

“Whatever happened to the Minotaur's sisters?”

Retellings of Greek myths are like catnip to me. I loved Song of Achilles, Circe, The Silence of the Girls and A Thousand Ships. Like them, Ariadne is told from the perspective of one of the women often mentioned only... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.