Apple of My Eye (Paperback)
  • Apple of My Eye (Paperback)
zoom

Apple of My Eye (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 24/01/2019
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Utterly addictive. Compulsive, twisty, tense.' CLAIRE DOUGLAS, author of Local Girl Missing

Just how far is a mother willing to go?

When a mysterious note arrives for seven months pregnant nurse Eliana Hughes, she begins to doubt every aspect of her life - from her mixed feelings about motherhood to her marriage to Martin, who has become distant in recent months.

As the person behind the note escalates their campaign to out Eli's husband as a cheat, she finds herself unable to trust even her own instincts, and as pressure builds she makes a mistake that jeopardises her entire future.

Elsewhere, someone is watching. Someone who desperately wants a baby to call their own and will go to any lengths to become a mother - and stay a mother...

A compelling psychological thriller that's perfect for fans of Rachell Abbott's The Shape of Liesand K.L. Slater's Finding Gracie.

What others are saying about APPLE OF MY EYE:

'A brilliantly paced, intriguingly plotted and thoroughly enjoyable story. One ofthe best psych thrillers I've read this year.' Liz Nugent, author of Skin Deep

'Allan has not only outdone herself yet again, but also cemented her status as one of the most talented writers of domestic noir writing today' Bookish Jottings

'I absolutely flipping well loved it... Oh my word, Apple Of My Eye was one seriously deliciously creepy read that had me gripped from start to finish... more twists and turns that you would find in a bag of fusilli pasta.' The Ginger Book Geek

'A mind-blowingly brilliant thriller that I simply couldn't bear to put down, Apple of My Eye is packed with shocking twists that will make your jaw drop and suspense so chilling you will be hiding behind the sofa.' Bookish Jottings

'Grab a chair and prepare for a marathon reading session!!! Excellent psychological thriller that will keep you reading until the small hours!' Reader review

'A truly astounding story that grips the reader from the first page... If you think you know what will happen guess again, then again for good measure!' Reader review

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008275082
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 250 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Dark and twisting, APPLE OF MY EYE is an unputdownable psychological thriller about grief and the lengths parents go to for their children. It promises to be one of the reads of 2019.' BRIAN MCGILLOWAY, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

'I devoured APPLE OF MY EYE in just under two days. This is a clever and addictive beauty and it deserves to fly!' LOUISE BEECH

'Claire's thrillers are twisty like tornadoes' LIZ NUGENT

'Gripping and disturbing - what a superb follow up to Her Name Was Rose. Claire Allan is the new queen of psych thrillers' CAROLINE FINNERTY

'Fantastic, fluid and engaging, a 2019 hit!' JO SPAIN

'A brilliant and hooky read' FIONNUALA KEARNEY

'What a great page-turner! An emotionally charged, tense and chilling read with twists that ensured I...didn't truly know who to trust!' SAM CARRINGTON

'A first rate psychological thriller. Emotional and twisty, with excellent characterisation. I had to come up for air after reading it!' PATRICIA GIBNEY

'Grabs you by the throat and never lets go - a book that fans of Clare Mackintosh will devour.' JOHN MARRS

'A wonderfully written, compelling thriller. Highly recommended - a perfect read.' ELISABETH CARPENTER

You may also be interested in...

Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Other Passenger
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
V2
Added to basket
V2
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
A Burning
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Just My Luck
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Institute
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Blue Moon
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A seriously fantastic read”

I read, reviewed and loved Claire’s debut psychological thriller called ‘Her Name Was Rose’ when it was released on 28th June 2018. Since then I have been (im)patiently waiting for her next psychological thriller.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“A Little Bit Disappointing.”

Although I quite enjoyed this book, I found the story to be slow in places and unfortunately by about half way through the novel I had guessed where it was going and was not wrong. A little bit disappointing so 3.5... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

“Terrific read!”

Eliana is not having an easy time. She is seven months pregnant & has suffered from sickness throughout. She loves her job as a palliative care nurse and is good at it. Her husband Martin, is an architect.They... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.