Anti-Social (Paperback)
  • Anti-Social (Paperback)
zoom

Anti-Social (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99 £7.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 18/03/2021
  • Save £1.00
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of The Secret Barrister and Adam Kay's This is Going to Hurt.
__________________
'Superb. This hysterically funny and moving memoir of an anti-social behaviour officer is a real eye-opener that hits all the right notes' FRANKIE BOYLE

'Anti-Social is brutally honest, exceptionally funny and terribly sad - a scything indictment of broken 21st century Britain. I could not put it down.' THE SECRET BARRISTER

'A fascinating insight into a job that stitches together the cracks in compassion in our communities' RENI EDDO-LODGE, bestselling author of Why I Am No Longer Talking To White People About Race
__________________
Has your life become unbearable because the person living above you has a fondness for crack cocaine, the company of strangers and dance music? Or maybe you're a social worker, mental health nurse, police officer, firefighter, dog warden or vicar and you've been landed with someone who's a pain in the arse. Who are you going to call? That would be me: an anti-social behaviour officer.

Anti-Social is the diary of a local authority worker whose job it is to keep his community happy, or at least away from each other's throats. That's hard enough at the best of times, but when your day features secret hoarders, delusional wannabe jockeys and litigious arms dealers, not to mention colleagues at war over the office thermostat, the possibility of complete chaos is never far away.

This is an urgent, timely but, most of all, hysterically funny memoir of a life spent working with the people society wants to forget and the problems that nobody else can resolve. This book will make you laugh, cry and boil with rage, all within a single sentence.

Updated with a new chapter for the paperback edition
__________________
AS SEEN ON BBC BREAKFAST AND ITV'S LORRAINE

'Brilliant. This deserves to be a huge success - funny, sad and heartbreaking' LORRAINE KELLY

'I absolutely loved it. It reads like a novel, has that page-turning quality everyone looks for in a good book but it delivers the punch that only true life can - funny obviously but with humanity and warmth for people at the edges of society most in need of our understanding and compassion' KIT DE WAAL, author of My Name Is Leon

'Get this book. ... I'm telling you now, you will absolutely love this guy, what he has to say and the book that he has written. In equal parts devastating and dark and incredibly funny.' NIHAL ARTHANAYAKE

'Laugh-out-loud funny. The delivery is punchy and the humour dark - think Irvine Welsh minus the Scottish vernacular' EXPRESS

'Think Adam Kay's This is Going to Hurt but with more dead bodies ... It's a gloriously cynical read but it's also sympathetic and deeply empathetic.' KATHY BURKE

'Riveting and brilliantly written... a potent cocktail of heartbreak and horror; wickedly funny, wearily endearing and absolutely enraging' CAROLINE SANDERSON, Bookseller

'A funny, thoughtful look into one of the toughest jobs I can imagine' SHAPPI KORSANDI
__________________
Reader reviews for Anti-Social:

'The timing of this book could not be better'
'Politicians of all hues should be made to read this book'
'Readable and compulsive'
'Well written and stunningly well observed'
'The author and all his long-suffering, dedicated colleagues deserve dustbin lid-sized medals'
'It had me in stitches, it had me in tears'
'Top-drawer stuff ... utterly riveting'
'I don't often take the time to review books here, but would very much recommend Anti-Social.'

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781787464995
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 290 g
Dimensions: 200 x 130 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Anti-Social is brutally honest, exceptionally funny and terribly sad - a scything indictment of broken 21st century Britain. I could not put it down. -- The Secret Barrister
Superb. This hysterically funny and moving memoir of an anti-social behaviour officer is a real eye-opener that hits all the right notes -- Frankie Boyle
A fascinating insight into a job that stitches together the cracks in compassion in our communities -- Renni Eddo-Lodge, author of Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race
I absolutely loved it. It reads like a novel, has that page turning quality everyone looks for in a good book but it delivers the punch that only true life can - funny obviously but with humanity and warmth for people at the edges of society most in need of our understanding and compassion.
Stories of tragedy and comedy from the social housing frontline . . . Shocking . . . Laugh-out-loud funny. The delivery is punchy and the humour dark - think Irvine Welsh minus the Scottish vernacular . . . The reader is taken from pathos to snort-inducing comedy and back again in just two sentences * Express *

You may also be interested in...

The Doors of Perception
Added to basket
Books v. Cigarettes
Added to basket
The Essays
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
On the Good Life
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Jerusalem
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
The Periodic Table
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Mabinogion
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Hell's Angels
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sidewalks
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Histories
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Down and Out in Paris and London
Added to basket
84 Charing Cross Road
Added to basket
Essays
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Why I Write
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
A Room of One's Own
Added to basket
The Road to Wigan Pier
Added to basket

“Frank and gripping, one to read”

This is the diary of a year in the life of Anti Social Behaviour Officer Nick Pettigrew. Written in the same kind of style as This is Going to Hurt and the Secret Barrister it’s an insight into how these jobs work... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Unflinching description of an ASB Officer’s work, laced with humour”

Well written, with more than an edge of dark humour, this takes us into a field of work, the ASB Officer, unreported until now. With diminishing resources, the stress is unbelievable. I found the stories quite... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“A moving and hilarious view from the margins of society.”

This diary of an anti-social behaviour officer is moving, anger-inducing and darkly funny in equal measure. These ‘fly-on-the-wall’ memoirs are a hugely popular genre at present, and this book is a welcome addition.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.