Click & Collect
from 2 Hours*
Last Christmas
delivery dates
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders over £25 Order in time for Christmas 19th December 2nd Class |
21st December by 3pm 1st Class
Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours after you order*
Anthrax Island - The John Tyler series (Paperback)
  • Anthrax Island - The John Tyler series (Paperback)
zoom

Anthrax Island - The John Tyler series (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 06/05/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

One of Ian Rankin's top ten books of 2021.

'One of the thrillers of the year' Scottish Sun
'A first class thriller... This debut is going to be huge'
Mari Hannah, author of Without a Trace

FACT: In 1942, in growing desperation at the progress of the war and fearing invasion by the Nazis, the UK government approved biological weapons tests on British soil. Their aim: to perfect an anthrax weapon destined for Germany. They succeeded.

FACT: Though the attack was never launched, the testing ground, Gruinard Island, was left lethally contaminated. It became known as Anthrax Island.

Now government scientists have returned to the island. They become stranded by an equipment failure and so John Tyler is flown in to fix the problem. He quickly discovers there's more than research going on. When one of the scientists is found impossibly murdered inside a sealed room, Tyler realises he's trapped with a killer...

A gripping thriller that will leave you guessing until the final page. Perfect for fans of Terry Hayes, James Swallow and Alistair MacLean.

Praise for Anthrax Island

'Uncomfortably well researched and brimming with pace, Anthrax Island is that rare thing: a thoughtful and intelligent thriller. Absolutely brilliant' M. W. Craven, 2019 CWA Gold Dagger award winning author of The Puppet Show

'A nerve-shredding thriller packed full of atmosphere and tension from a writer to watch' Doug Johnstone, author of The Big Chill

'Anthrax Island makes brilliant use of a unique setting, and at times reads like Agatha Christie by way of John Carpenter's The Thing. Enthralling' Mason Cross, author of Presumed Dead

'Anthrax Island is an exhilarating thrill ride with so many twists and turns that it's impossible to predict what's going to happen next. A classic mystery with a contemporary twist, Anthrax Island is a joy' Chris McGeorge, author of Inside Out

'Smart, rocket-paced and super twisty this phenomenal debut thriller is like a cross between Jack Reacher, Bond, and And Then There Were None. A real must read!' Steph Broadribb, author of Deep Down Dead

'Absolute belter! Seriously, if Hercule Poirot and James Bond had a baby and sent him to the Jason Bourne School for Badasses he would grow up to be John Tyler. Cars, cash, poison, guns, thrills, chills and murder - this book has the lot' S E Moorhead, author of Witness X

'A genre-busting debut. It's like the bastard son of Agatha Christie and Ian Fleming watched The Thing on repeat before bashing out a pacy, locked-room, action-adventure thriller' Trevor Wood, 2020 CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger award-winning author of One Way Street

'This is a classic British thriller in the best tradition. I thought I had it sussed halfway through, but I really, really didn't! A real page-turner' S. G. MacLean, author of the Seeker series

Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 9781800322752
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm

You may also be interested in...

Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Passenger
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Twyford Code
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Next in Line
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Breathless
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Boys from Biloxi
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Dream Town
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lighthouse Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
No Plan B
Added to basket
£22.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
No Plan B
Added to basket
£22.00   £15.99
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“A gripping, locked-room mystery”

This gripping, intelligent locked-room mystery reminded me of Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None, but with a contemporary twist: the added terrifying threat of death by anthrax.

I have to start by saying... More

Paperback edition
10 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Picks up where Alistair MacLean left off. Gripping stuff!”

I’m a keen fan of thrillers, from the works of Alastair MacLean and Ken Follett to Steve Berry, Chris Kusneski, and David Gibbins, and I’m hard to please at times. So I was interested to see what Danny Marshall... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Relentless action thriller”

It is slightly difficult to give my exact thoughts without giving any plot line or spoilers and I am not going to spoil the enjoyment of reading for others,

This is a book which just oozes tension and drama, the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.