An Unsuitable Marriage: An emotional page turner, perfect for fans of Hilary Boyd (Paperback)
  • An Unsuitable Marriage: An emotional page turner, perfect for fans of Hilary Boyd (Paperback)
zoom

An Unsuitable Marriage: An emotional page turner, perfect for fans of Hilary Boyd (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 09/03/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Could your marriage survive the ultimate betrayal? A sharp and emotional novel of a family under pressure, perfect for fans of Joanna Trollope and Hilary Boyd. Olivia had everything - a loving husband in Geoffrey, a thoughtful and intelligent son in Edward and a beautiful home in the Somerset countryside. But all that changed when Geoffrey's business went under. Now penniless and homeless, Geoffrey is living with his recently widowed mother, whilst Olivia has been forced to work as a housemistress at her son's elite boarding school. With their marriage under intolerable strain, Geoffrey makes a mistake - one that has devastating consequences for the guilty and innocent alike . . . 'This smart and emotional family drama will grab you from its shocking first few opening lines, and keep you enthralled to the very end. Clear a Sunday and devour it' Heat magazine 'A moving and engaging debut novel . . . shortens the dark nights' Santa Montefiore, on Learning to Speak American 'A heartrending story, well-told, about coping with unimaginable loss. Dartford evokes strong, sympathetic characters while writing fluently and from the heart. I raced through it.' Hilary Boyd, on Learning to Speak American

Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
ISBN: 9781785760532
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 305 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This smart and emotional family drama will grab you from its shocking first few opening lines, and keep you enthralled to the very end. Clear a Sunday and devour it. * Heat *
This sharply observed novel looks at one family pushed to breaking point. * Sun on Sunday, Fabulous *
A moving dissection of a marriage under unbearable pressure, set in rural Somerset: an 'Aga saga' for our times * The Lady *
This is an absorbing family drama in the Joanna Trollope mould from this Bath based writer. * Bath Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Little Fires Everywhere
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Lullaby
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Ladder Of Years
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Immortalists
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Sealwoman's Gift
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Three Things About Elsie
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Surprise Me
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Convenience Store Woman
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Paperback
Killing Commendatore
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
How to Stop Time
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Last Letter Home
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Definitely not picture perfect”

When I wrote my first impression of the cover i have to say I really was captured by the cover of the book, it reminded me of a fairy tale but with flecks of horror and secrecy, the cover left you imagining what the... More

Paperback edition
7th March 2017
Helpful? Upvote 45

“Not my cup of tea!”

ok so first I received this copy from ReadersFirst as a bonus book to review.

Disappointed by a prologue that promised me a story that never emerged, one that mirrored a sense of foreboding and a mystery at the... More

Paperback edition
9th March 2017
Helpful? Upvote 37
TripFiction

“Marital matters in SOMERSET”

“Marriage is a very secret place”

This novel is very much in the Aga-Saga genre, and will definitely appeal to those readers who are drawn to Joanna Trollope, Santa Montefiore, and Hilary Boyd.

At the heart of the... More

Paperback edition
11th March 2017
Helpful? Upvote 31

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.