An Orphan's War: One of the Best Historical Fiction Books You Will Read in 2018 (Paperback)
  • An Orphan's War: One of the Best Historical Fiction Books You Will Read in 2018 (Paperback)
zoom

An Orphan's War: One of the Best Historical Fiction Books You Will Read in 2018 (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 03/05/2018
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool's Dr Barnado's Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan's War is a gripping saga about love and loss on the Home Front.

LIVERPOOL, 1940
When her childhood sweetheart Johnny is killed in action, Maxine Grey loses more than her husband - she loses her best friend. Desperate to make a difference in this awful war, Maxine takes a nursing job at London's St Thomas's hospital.

A BROKEN HEART
She takes comfort in the attentions of a handsome surgeon, but Edwin Blake isn't all he seems. And as the Blitz descends on the capital, Maxine faces more heartache. When she returns to Liverpool, she harbours a secret.

A BRAVE SPIRIT
When Maxine is offered a job at a Dr Barnardo's orphanage, she hopes this is the second chance she has been looking for. Do the orphans know that she needs them as much as they need her?

A gripping story of love, friendship and hope in the darkest of places. Molly Green is an exciting new voice in saga fiction, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008238971
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 310 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

PRAISE FOR MOLLY GREEN

`Molly Green creates realistic characters and situations that keep you turning the pages.' Katie Fforde

'A moving, gripping story set during WW2, of a woman's dedication to the orphans in her care and her heart wrenching love.' Kitty Neale

`Redolent of wartime Britain and brimming with heartfelt stories from several characters, Molly Green's sure-footed novel shows just how challenging it was to find love and a place to call home in the dark days of the war.' Terri Fleming

`A lovely, heartfelt, warming slice of saga fiction ... There is a gentleness to the writing as it walks some difficult paths, ensuring AN ORPHAN'S WAR is an engaging, generous read.' Liz Robinson, LoveReading

`A gripping read' My Weekly

You may also be interested in...

The Sagas of the Icelanders
Added to basket
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
Hothouse Flower
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Munitions Girls
Added to basket
The Stranger From The Sea
Added to basket
The Black Moon
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dilly's Sacrifice
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket
Casting Off
Added to basket
Cities of the Plain
Added to basket
A Life's Music
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Demelza
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Hide Her Name
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Sense of Place Needed for Series to Cement its Place Among Lovers of Historical Fiction”

After losing husband Johnny in Occupied France, Maxine Grey needs to occupy her mind. With an overbearing mother and imprisoned brother, Max breaks free of the family shackles to start a nursing career in London.... More

Paperback edition
29th May 2018
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.