An Orphan's War (Paperback)
  • An Orphan's War (Paperback)
zoom

An Orphan's War (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 03/05/2018
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool's Dr Barnardo's Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan's War is a gripping saga about love and loss on the Home Front.

LIVERPOOL, 1940
When her childhood sweetheart Johnny is killed in action, Maxine Grey loses more than her husband - she loses her best friend. Desperate to make a difference in this awful war, Maxine takes a nursing job at London's St Thomas's Hospital.

A BROKEN HEART
Maxine takes comfort in the attentions of a handsome surgeon, but Edwin Blake might not be all he seems. And as the Blitz descends on the capital, Maxine returns to Liverpool heartbroken and surrounded by the threat of scandal.

A BRAVE SPIRIT
When offered a job at a Dr Barnardo's orphanage, Maxine hopes this is the second chance she has been looking for. And one little boy in particular helps her to realise that she needs the orphans just as much as they need her...

A gripping story of love, friendship and hope in the darkest of places. Molly Green is an exciting new voice in saga fiction, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008238971
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 310 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

PRAISE FOR MOLLY GREEN

`Molly Green creates realistic characters and situations that keep you turning the pages.' Katie Fforde

'A moving, gripping story set during WW2, of a woman's dedication to the orphans in her care and her heart wrenching love.' Kitty Neale

`Redolent of wartime Britain and brimming with heartfelt stories from several characters, Molly Green's sure-footed novel shows just how challenging it was to find love and a place to call home in the dark days of the war.' Terri Fleming

`A lovely, heartfelt, warming slice of saga fiction ... There is a gentleness to the writing as it walks some difficult paths, ensuring AN ORPHAN'S WAR is an engaging, generous read.' Liz Robinson, LoveReading

`A gripping read' My Weekly

`Memorable characters, a well written, plausible plot and very good descriptions of the time and place. The scenes and details of Dr Barnardo's are especially interesting as the plight of orphans is rarely considered when we think of World War Two ... We often forget the ordinary people surviving day-to-day `back home'.' Discovering Diamonds Blog

You may also be interested in...

The King's Curse
Added to basket
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sepulchre
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
This Thing Of Darkness
Added to basket
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket

“Sense of Place Needed for Series to Cement its Place Among Lovers of Historical Fiction”

After losing husband Johnny in Occupied France, Maxine Grey needs to occupy her mind. With an overbearing mother and imprisoned brother, Max breaks free of the family shackles to start a nursing career in London.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.