An Iconography of Chance - 99 Photographs of the Evanescent South (Hardback)
  • An Iconography of Chance - 99 Photographs of the Evanescent South (Hardback)
zoom

An Iconography of Chance - 99 Photographs of the Evanescent South (Hardback)

(author)
£49.00
Hardback 216 Pages / Published: 15/12/2015
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Countercultural musician, performer, filmmaker, and photographer Tav Falco was born and raised in the American South. In An Iconography of Chance, Falco guides us through the hometowns and gravel roads of this region and introduces us to the backwoods spiritual sanctuary that he knows so well. This limited edition book offers nearly one hundred arresting photographs of roadside icons in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee. Falco's eye is drawn to that which others have overlooked, discarded, and rejected. Whether overtly or discreetly conjured, through his lens, these forlorn and adrift items-urban specters, rural fables, and visual cliches-become living, breathing images that agitate the dark waters of the unconscious. In Falco's hands, the camera captures the very heart of the gothic South, a netherworld of dreams-and terrors. This multilingual book, which accompanies a traveling exhibition by the Ogden Museum of Southern Art and Music in New Orleans, will appeal to readers of English, Spanish, French, or German. Including a prologue by renowned photographer Alberto Garcia-Alix, An Iconography of Chance offers a magnetic portrait of a place as fascinating as it is disturbing.

Publisher: Solar Books
ISBN: 9780983248088
Number of pages: 216
Weight: 1422 g
Dimensions: 284 x 223 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
""An Iconography of Chance" is all about Tav Falco keeping his promise: a book about crossroad meetings, a mixture of glory and defeat, an exotic guide to the Deep South. Tav Falco is an explosive cocktail for those heading to the asylum: Proust kills Faulkner, Mozart reincarnates in Jerry Lee Lewis, Freud understands Robert D. Lee, the Danube meets the Mississippi. All is gone in the wind like a bunch of tumbleweed, drunk and disorderly. Tav Falco embodies the free spirit of someone who has nothing to lose. Forever on the move, forever in exile, forever lucid."
--Paulo Nozolino
"An Iconography of Chance" is all about Tav Falco keeping his promise: a book about crossroad meetings, a mixture of glory and defeat, an exotic guide to the Deep South. Tav Falco is an explosive cocktail for those heading to the asylum: Proust kills Faulkner, Mozart reincarnates in Jerry Lee Lewis, Freud understands Robert D. Lee, the Danube meets theMississippi. All is gone in the wind like a bunch of tumbleweed, drunk and disorderly. Tav Falco embodies the free spirit of someone who has nothing to lose.Forever on the move, forever in exile, forever lucid.
--Paulo Nozolino"
"An Iconography of Chance is all about Tav Falco keeping his promise: a book about crossroad meetings, a mixture of glory and defeat, an exotic guide to the Deep South. Tav Falco is an explosive cocktail for those heading to the asylum: Proust kills Faulkner, Mozart reincarnates in Jerry Lee Lewis, Freud understands Robert D. Lee, the Danube meets the Mississippi. All is gone in the wind like a bunch of tumbleweed, drunk and disorderly. Tav Falco embodies the free spirit of someone who has nothing to lose. Forever on the move, forever in exile, forever lucid."
--Paulo Nozolino

You may also be interested in...

Scotland's Landscapes
Added to basket
Sebastiao Salgado
Added to basket
£10.95
Paperback
Glorious Glasgow
Added to basket
Spirit of Lancashire
Added to basket
Vogue Covers: On Fashion's Front Page
Added to basket
Scotland
Added to basket
£9.95
Paperback
Ansel Adams' 400 Photographs
Added to basket
The Great LIFE Photographers
Added to basket
£16.95   £13.49
Paperback
Reflections of Scotland
Added to basket
Humans of New York
Added to basket
Street Photography Now
Added to basket
£19.95   £15.99
Paperback
The Most Beautiful Villages of England
Added to basket
London - The Panoramas
Added to basket
Photographing Cornwall
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.