An Englishwoman in New York (Paperback)
  • An Englishwoman in New York (Paperback)
zoom

An Englishwoman in New York (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 10/10/2013
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

This homage to the charm and romance of New York is a coming-of-age novel for grown-ups that will appeal to readers of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary, Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It and Melissa Bank's Girl's Guide to Hunting and Fishing.

When Lucy's husband loses his job and is relocated to New York, she is forced to give up her posh London life and move to a tiny Manhattan apartment. Homesick and resentful at first, Lucy soon finds herself embarking on an exhilarating new affair - no, not with her husband, although she is surprised to find they do still love each other, but with the city itself and the three women she meets at the school gates who, against all odds, become her friends.

Christy, married to a wealthy older man, questions her life choice as she fantasizes about her doorman and tries to make peace with her angry stepdaughter. Julia is a workaholic television writer who becomes convinced her family is better off without her, until a neighbour's dog makes her re-think everything. Meanwhile Robyn, bread-winning wife to an aspiring novelist, has had enough. She wants what her friends are having - even if it means an affair with at least one, if not all, of their husbands . . .

In the tradition of Melissa Bank's The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing, with shades of Sex and the City, An Englishwoman in New York is the perfect coming-of-age novel for grown-ups.

This book is published in the US under the title No One Could Have Guessed the Weather

'Very smart, very savvy and very very funny' Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister

'Fabulously clever, brilliantly observed' Cathy Kelly

'Readers will find themselves on these pages and revel in the connection . . . I loved it' Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781848548336
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 180 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'Very smart, very savvy and very very funny' * Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister *
'Fabulously clever, brilliantly observed' * Cathy Kelly *
'Readers will find themselves on these pages and revel in the connection . . . I loved it' * Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife *
'It was sophisticated, witty, with a sharp eye for the ridiculous. I loved it!' * Katie Fforde *
Witty and sasy . . . a smart, funny book that has as its backdrop vibrant, bustling New York * Sunday Express *
Grown-up, superior chick lit: full of wit and clever observations on the cultural differences between London and New York, but also on friendship between women' * Lady *
A subversively charming debut about a group of happily imperfect New Yorkers . . . Clever and witty: the best kind of summer book * Kirkus *
AN ENGLISHWOMAN IN NEW YORK serves up a tasty dose of female bonding in the Big Apple * Sunday Times (Ireland) *
Casey's characters make [An Englishwoman in New York] stand out in the canon of contemporary commercial women's fiction. Her writing is sharp and precise and brilliantly visual * Sunday Business Post *
A sophisticated and beguiling tale . . . witty and wise . . . full of quotable one liners and clever observations that manage not to obscure the considerable heart of the novel * Irish Independent *
Casey's debut leaves the reader eager for more * Publishers Weekly *
A sliding puzzle of a book . . . a quick, breezy read * New York Observer *
A witty, sophisticated piece of entertainment that doesn't insult our intelligence and isn't written for little girls . . . I read this in the garden and it was perfect * Saga *
Life at the school gates is a familiar starting point for hen-lit novels, but Casey's entertaining debut gives the scenario a twist . . . it's Lucy's slow-burn passion for her adopted town that really lights up the page * Independent *
I couldn't have loved it any more. But this book immediately * Daily Mail *

You may also be interested in...

American Dirt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Grown Ups
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Here and Now
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Strawberry Thief
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Exciting Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Home Stretch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Bookread2day

“flat story”

I loved the modern design of the lady in green on the front cover. I was looking forward to reading this book. Sadly there was not a real juicy story to hold my attention. There are some very funny momets in this book... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.