An Englishwoman in New York (Paperback)
  • An Englishwoman in New York (Paperback)
zoom

An Englishwoman in New York (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£13.99
Paperback 288 Pages
Published: 20/06/2013

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

This homage to the charm and romance of New York is a coming-of-age novel for grown-ups that will appeal to readers of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary, Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It and Melissa Bank's Girl's Guide to Hunting and Fishing.

When Lucy's husband loses his job and is relocated to New York, she is forced to give up her posh London life and move to a tiny Manhattan apartment. Homesick and resentful at first, Lucy soon finds herself embarking on an exhilarating new affair - no, not with her husband, although she is surprised to find they do still love each other, but with the city itself and the three women she meets at the school gates who, against all odds, become her friends.

Christy, married to a wealthy older man, questions her life choice as she fantasizes about her doorman and tries to make peace with her angry stepdaughter. Julia is a workaholic television writer who becomes convinced her family is better off without her, until a neighbour's dog makes her re-think everything. Meanwhile Robyn, bread-winning wife to an aspiring novelist, has had enough. She wants what her friends are having - even if it means an affair with at least one, if not all, of their husbands . . .

In the tradition of Melissa Bank's The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing, with shades of Sex and the City, An Englishwoman in New York is the perfect coming-of-age novel for grown-ups.

This book is published in the US under the title No One Could Have Guessed the Weather

'Very smart, very savvy and very very funny' Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister

'Fabulously clever, brilliantly observed' Cathy Kelly

'Readers will find themselves on these pages and revel in the connection . . . I loved it' Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781848548312
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 382 g
Dimensions: 232 x 156 x 23 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Intermezzo
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Pumpkin Spice Café
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bookread2day

“flat story”

I loved the modern design of the lady in green on the front cover. I was looking forward to reading this book. Sadly there was not a real juicy story to hold my attention. There are some very funny momets in this book... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: