Along the Wisconsin Riverway - North Coast Book (Hardback)
  • Along the Wisconsin Riverway - North Coast Book (Hardback)

Along the Wisconsin Riverway - North Coast Book (Hardback)

Hardback Published: 31/12/1997
  • Can be ordered from our supplier

Delivered within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

The Lower Wisconsin River is one of the last long stretches of undammed waterway in the Midwest. This exquisite photo essay reveals the timelessness of the river and the land along its banks primeval sloughs, towering bluffs with their sandstone terraces, wetlands awash in spring floods, and low prairies so rich and varied that they yield both cactus and cattails. Jill Metcoff has spent some twenty years photographing the ninety-three miles of the lower river from Prairie du Sac to the Mississippi with antique large- and medium-format cameras. These 104 photographs, lavishly printed and evocatively capturing the landscape in shades of black and white, are in the tradition of Eliot Porter and H. H. Bennett. They are accompanied throughout the book by voices of the region, including Aldo Leopold, August Derleth, John Muir, Frederick Jackson Turner, and Frank Lloyd Wright, as well as contemporary voices from public hearings on the future of the Lower Wisconsin riverway. This landscape eons old and left untouched by the glaciers that ground much of Wisconsin s ancient landforms into gravel has escaped major development despite its location within 200 miles of more than twenty million people. But all that could change tomorrow. Metcoff s work is a passionate appeal to view and value the riverway in all its variety and grandeur."

Publisher: University of Wisconsin Press
ISBN: 9780299141400

You may also be interested in...

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?

Review us on Trustpilot