All the Good Things (Hardback)
  • All the Good Things (Hardback)
zoom

All the Good Things (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 240 Pages / Published: 01/06/2017
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

What if you did a very bad thing... but that wasn't the end of the story
'An extremely moving, emotional rollercoaster of a debut novel' 5* Goodreads review

Twenty-one year old Beth is in prison. The thing she did is so bad she doesn't deserve ever to feel good again.
But her counsellor, Erika, won't give up on her. She asks Beth to make a list of all the good things in her life. So Beth starts to write down her story, from sharing silences with Foster Dad No. 1, to flirting in the Odeon on Orange Wednesdays, to the very first time she sniffed her baby's head.
But at the end of her story, Beth must confront the bad thing.
What is the truth hiding behind her crime? And does anyone - even a 100% bad person - deserve a chance to be good?

All the Good Things is a story about redemption and hope for fans of Nathan Filer, Stephen Kelman and Emma Healey


Heartfelt, heartbreaking, and genuinely joyous (Francis Spufford, author of 'Golden Hill')

Compassionate and beautifully written (Carys Bray, author of 'The Museum of You')

I raced through this beautiful novel, which oscillates between pain and hope, anger and joy. An important novel which celebrates the fact that good things exist inside every person, no matter how ignored or hidden. (Sarah Butler, author of 'Ten Things I've Learned About Love' and 'Before the Fire')

A heartbreaking, vital and seamless insight into a life that might otherwise be ignored or judged. The voice of Bethany is perfect - compelling, whip-smart and deeply affecting. (Emma Jane Unsworth, author of 'Animals')

If I could have given this book six stars I could. . So beautifully written and so insightful (5* Goodreads review)

In this profoundly moving but surprisingly funny debut novel, Clare Fisher has given voice to people on the fringes of society, people with a story like any of us (5* Netgalley review)

This empathetic beautiful story will have you bawling your eyes out (5* Goodreads review)

'All The Good Things' is a well written and heartbreaking novel (5* Goodreads review)

Utterly riveting, cunningly written and bursting full of character (4* Netgalley review)

This really is a wonderful debut... a beautiful story about social exclusion, the vulnerability of women and girls, and the unfortunate ones who fall through the cracks (4* Goodreads review)

'All The Good Things' by Clare Fisher is a highly charged emotional read that just grabs you right in the heart (4* Goodreads review)

[This] novel will challenge preconceptions about the kind of people who end up in care; the kind of people who end up in prison; the kind of people who do terrible things (4* Goodreads review)

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241275757
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 318 g
Dimensions: 206 x 140 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Heartfelt, heartbreaking, and genuinely joyous -- Francis Spufford, author of 'Golden Hill'
Compassionate and beautifully written -- Carys Bray, author of A Song For Issy Bradley
A funny and hopeful story... Clare writes with compassion and insight -- Kit de Waal, bestselling author of 'My Name is Leon'
I raced through this beautiful novel, which oscillates between pain and hope, anger and joy. An important novel which celebrates the fact that good things exist inside every person, no matter how ignored or hidden. -- Sarah Butler, author of 'Ten Things I've Learned About Love' and 'Before the Fire'
A heartbreaking, vital and seamless insight into a life that might otherwise be ignored or judged. The voice of Bethany is perfect - compelling, whip-smart and deeply affecting. -- Emma Jane Unsworth, author of 'Animals'
Clare Fisher's novel addresses poverty, fear, and desperation. The protagonist, Beth, must fight for every good thing in her life. She has grown up in foster care and has no friends or family to protect her when she moves London. In many ways, it is a novel about loneliness and isolation. Yet throughout there is an indomitable love. It is a book that burns with compassion, both Beth's and Fisher's. The reader is left with the desire to find whatever resources of empathy they have and to live with greater kindness. -- Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, author of Harmless Like You
A moving, compassionate account of someone struggling hard for redemption * Sunday Times *
A sparky and unsettling debut * Guardian *

You may also be interested in...

The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
One August Night
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Starve Acre
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ghosts
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Troy
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Foundling
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“An Emotionally Charged Contemporary Read”

A beautifully written debut by Clare Fisher. Beth is in prison for doing a 'bad thing' - the details of which we only learn at the end of the book - but the story is really about Beth's emotional... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.