All the Bright Places (Paperback)
  • All the Bright Places (Paperback)

All the Bright Places (Paperback)

19 Reviews Write your review
£7.99 £5.99
Paperback Published: 08/01/2015
  • Save £2.00
  • 10+ in stock

We can send it to you within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Click & Collect From your local shop

This brilliant, compelling and heart-breaking book about two teenagers struggling with their lives, who find each other by chance, is full of refreshing honesty as it tackles the very serious issues surrounding mental illness.

On the surface, Violet Markey and Theodore Finch could not be more different; Finch is a melancholy and unusual figure, preoccupied with death. He fixates on the notion of taking his own life. However, each time he decides to kill himself, some small but wonderful thing stops him. Violet is a popular girl, usually surrounded by many friends, but she is having a hard time coming to terms with the death of her sister. When the two meet on a ledge, they manage to save each other and, understandably, find themselves drawn to one another.

When the two embark on an adventure - a road-trip round Indiana to discover the ‘natural wonder’s of their home state -Violet gets to know the other, warmer, funnier side of Finch. Events do not conspire to help Finch’s state of mind, though, and Violet will have to decide how far she is willing to go for the boy she now realises she loves.

All The Bright Places navigates the very complicated and troubling world of mental illness in a moving and accessible  way; the novel will help YA readers gain a greater understanding of the very real and important issues faced by those who are experiencing mental illness, issues that a quarter of the population will face at some point in their lives. It  also contains a simple but ever useful message for anyone who may be feeling blue, in essence, as Finch tells Violet, whatever you do, make it lovely.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780141357034

You may also be interested in...

“Heartbreaking and memorable.”

A brilliantly conceived but heart-breaking story about two teenagers who find friendship and love in the most unlikeliest of places, and slowly learn to live again in a world they want to leave behind.
Admittedly,... More

Paperback edition
4 similar books recommended
5th April 2015
Helpful? Upvote 33

“Beautiful. ”

This book is the best book that I have ever read. I just couldn't put it down as soon as I started its the fastest book that I've also read. I just didn't want it to end. I would defiantly recommend, it...

Paperback edition
29th July 2015
Helpful? Upvote 27

“A exquisite teenage love story”

A beautiful love story about two high school students, both on the verge of suicide. One of the few books that has left me in floods of tears by the end. One for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Gayle Forman.

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
25th February 2015
Helpful? Upvote 25

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?


Review us on Trustpilot