All Our Names (Hardback)
  • All Our Names (Hardback)
zoom

All Our Names (Hardback)

(author)
£17.99
Hardback 264 Pages / Published: 05/06/2014
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
In Uganda, two young men get caught up in a revolt against the post-colonial regime in the early 1970s. As the line between idealism and violence becomes increasingly blurred, the friends are driven apart - one of them into the deepest peril. In a quiet town in the American Midwest, an exotic stranger arrives: an exchange student from Africa called Isaac. Helen, the social worker asked to help him settle in, quickly falls for him, though she soon learns to keep their affair hidden from prejudiced eyes. And she soon realises that Isaac is haunted by his mysterious past. Switching back and forth between Africa and America, this taut, searing novel blazes with insights about the physical and emotional geographies that circumscribe our lives. Writing within the tradition of Naipaul, Greene, and Achebe, Mengestu gives us a political novel that is also a transfixing portrait of love and grace, self-determination, and the names we are given and the names we earn.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444793772
Number of pages: 264
Weight: 402 g
Dimensions: 222 x 140 x 25 mm

You may also be interested in...

Killing Commendatore
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Crazy Rich Asians
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Three Things About Elsie
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Little Fires Everywhere
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Love Letter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Discovery of Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Transcription
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
The Immortalists
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.