Alice and the Fly (Hardback)
  • Alice and the Fly (Hardback)
zoom

Alice and the Fly (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 15/01/2015
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Perfect for fans of Nathan Filer's THE SHOCK OF THE FALL and Mark Haddon's THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME, comes the book of the year.... A spellbinding first novel by a British author about how obsessions and phobias can upend your entire life.

This is a book about phobias and obsessions, isolation and dark corners. It's about families, friendships, and carefully preserved secrets. But above everything else it's about love. Finding love - in any of its forms - and nurturing it.

Miss Hayes has a new theory. She thinks my condition's caused by some traumatic incident from my past I keep deep-rooted in my mind. As soon as I come clean I'll flood out all these tears and it'll all be ok and I won't be scared of Them anymore. The truth is I can't think of any single traumatic childhood incident to tell her. I mean, there are plenty of bad memories - Herb's death, or the time I bit the hole in my tongue, or Finners Island, out on the boat with Sarah - but none of these are what caused the phobia. I've always had it. It's Them. I'm just scared of Them. It's that simple.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444790108
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 534 g
Dimensions: 221 x 165 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'One of the most stunning debuts I've read in a long time. The talent behind it is huge.' -- Helen Walsh, author of The Lemon Grove
Alice and the Fly is a darkly quirky story of love, obsession and fear. A disconcerting but beautiful story hung around the enchanting and heartbreaking voice of teenager Greg. -- Anna James, The Bookseller
'A beautifully written, haunting, evocative and immensely accomplished tale... this is a novel that demands that you make people read it - James Rice is one to watch. Don't miss it.' -- Liz Loves Books
'This is a dark and intriguing story of love, obsession and fear - a Captivating Read *****' * OK! *
A powerful novel * Closer *
A stunning and fresh debut * Big Issue in the North *
Fresh, original and a bit crazy * Red *
'This is a novel about loneliness, and Rice vividly evokes the isolation of all those trapped inside the need to present a socially valid exterior. His writing is fuelled by a powerful sense of empathy, even for those whose aspirations he so expertly ridicules. For all the bleakness it portrays Alice and the Fly is an oddly uplifting novel' * Guardian *
'At times uncomfortable but always captivating. A wonderful debut novel - Greg's unique voice will stay with you long after the shocking climax.' * Bella *
Rice's stylistic verve and skillful storytelling make us keen to discover if we're right to be fearful for his characters, while also raising pertinent questions about social divisions and the way outsiders are treated today * Independent *
'Alice and the Fly is a stunning novel but as a debut work it is outstanding, marking out James Rice as a new talent to watch. This is a vivid and profoundly disturbing book which will stay with you long after you have closed it. Tremendously dark at times, it also pulls off the rare trick of being funny and engaging' -- We Love this Book
'It's incredible... The best thing!' -- Scot Williams, Actor
An intriguing and moving story * Woman & Home *
I was hugely impressed with this. As a debut novel, it is an enormous, powerful, punchy story with the perfect balance of grit and entertainment. It's been a while since I read something that has had this much power. Rice is a clever writer, with enough wits about him to build strong characters and plot, without dividing attention from either -- House of Blog
Heartbreaking, haunting and unforgettable... Even after putting the book down, my mind continues to recall parts of the book, think about particular parts that engaged, disturbed, saddened me; the mark of a truly remarkable piece -- Ramsia the Authoress blog
The writing was stunning and the plot was incredibly intriguing -- The Reading Fan Girl Blog
Fresh, original and a bit crazy -- Red magazine online
'This enchanting story centres around friendship, family and phobias - and, most importantly of all, love' * Inside Soap *

You may also be interested in...

A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Utopia Avenue
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A Great Debut!”

This novel is about family, friendship, obsessions and carefully kept secrets. Greg just wants to fit in, can he and at what cost? This is funny, heartwarming and heartbreaking and deals with mental illness in a... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 82
Leilah at Doncaster

“An astonishing debut!”


‘Oh what a tangled web we weave, When first we practise to deceive!’ – Sir Walter Scott.

There is a lot of deception in James Rice’s incredible debut. There’s the middle class family hiding their tracks from the... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 62

“Heart-breaking & disturbing. An amazing debut!”

This is a very cleverly written novel that deals with mental health issues and the effects it has on the sufferer, Greg, and his family and world around him as his paranoia and obsessions spiral out of control. At the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 40

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.