After the Fall (Paperback)
  • After the Fall (Paperback)
zoom

After the Fall (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 03/01/2013
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

In the quiet of a New Zealand winter's night, a rescue helicopter is sent to airlift a five-year-old boy with severe internal injuries. He's fallen from the upstairs veranda of an isolated farmhouse, and his condition is critical. At first, Finn's fall looks like a horrible accident; after all, he's prone to sleepwalking. Only his frantic mother, Martha McNamara, knows how it happened. And she isn't telling. Not yet. Maybe not ever.

Tragedy isn't what the McNamara family expected when they moved to New Zealand. For Martha, it was an escape. For her artist husband Kit, it was a dream. For their small twin boys, it was an adventure. For sixteen-year-old Sacha, it was the start of a nightmare.

They end up on the isolated east coast of the North Island, seemingly in the middle of a New Zealand tourism campaign. But their peaceful idyll is soon shattered as the choices Sacha makes lead the family down a path which threatens to destroy them all.

Martha finds herself facing a series of impossible decisions, each with devastating consequences for her family.

Publisher: Allen & Unwin
ISBN: 9781743314890
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 262 g
Dimensions: 199 x 130 x 23 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
Original, wonderfully written and utterly gripping, this is a corker of a tale. * The Sun *
After The Fall is a gripping tale that would appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope... A page turning book to while away a winter's evening. * Red Online *
Jodi Picoult had better look over her shoulder - she's got a new contender by the name of Charity Norman. * Sydney Morning Herald *
A gripping story, which touches on the fragility of trust, the strength of love and, of course, second chances. This is Norman's second novel. Her style is emerging as reminiscent of bestselling author Jodi Picoult. * Sunday Canberra Times *
Will appeal to devotees of Joanna Trollope and Jodi Picoult... [Norman] is hot on their heels. * Daily Mail on Freeing Grace *
Easy to read, hard to put down, it'll move you to tears. * Easy Living on Freeing Grace *

You may also be interested in...

Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An Unsuitable Match
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
After the Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Discovery of Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Wonderful, moving read.”

‘I hoped I was dreaming, because this was a terrifying nightmare.’

Five-year-old Finn is taken by rescue helicopter to hospital one night after a fall from the upstairs balcony of his family home deep in rural New... More

Paperback edition
1st February 2013
Helpful? Upvote 16

“pure brilliance”

I really enjoyed this book for the first 70%, after which, it became absolutely exceptional and a read of pure brilliance.
The characters are very easy to love and the story holds a strong moral of sticking by those... More

Paperback edition
31st March 2014
Helpful? Upvote 10

“gripping read”

A really good read, a real page turner, I felt as if I knew all the characters in person, the story really pulled you in, just wanted it to go on and on.

Paperback edition
3rd February 2013
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.