• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
Aerie - Magonia 2 (Paperback)
  • Aerie - Magonia 2 (Paperback)
zoom

Aerie - Magonia 2 (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 20/10/2016
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The stunning sequel to Maria Dahvana Headley's critically acclaimed Magonia tells the story of one girl who must make an impossible choice between two families, two homes-and two versions of herself.

Aza Ray is back on earth. Her boyfriend, Jason, is overjoyed. Her family is healed. She's living a normal life, or as normal as it can be if you've spent the past year dying, waking up on a sky ship, and discovering that your song can change the world.

As in, not normal. Part of Aza still yearns for the clouds, no matter how much she loves the people on the ground.

When Jason's paranoia over Aza's safety causes him to make a terrible mistake, Aza finds herself a fugitive in Magonia, tasked with opposing her radical, bloodthirsty, recently escaped mother, Zal Quel, and her singing partner, Dai. She must travel to the edge of the world in search of a legendary weapon, the Flock, in a journey through fire and identity that will transform her forever.

Told in Maria Headley's trademark John Green-meets-Neil Gaiman voice, Aerie is sure to satisfy the many readers who can't wait to return to the spellbinding world of Magonia.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062565372
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 333 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 20 mm
Edition: International ed.


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Gorgeous, hopeful, heroic, as far-out fantastical as a lost Bowie song-a wild and wonderful novel that makes you glad to be alive." -- Libba Bray, New York Times bestselling author of Lair of Dreams
"The stunner in this novel is the romance between Aza and Jason that... transforms slowly to something that is broken and imperfect but also intentional and heart-wrenchingly beautiful. Readers [will] happily return here after diving into that splendid start." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"The dual-voiced narrative... offers intriguing characterization and gender dynamics, paired with fascinatingly complex world-building that readers familiar with the series will especially enjoy." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
"A well-paced, cinematic adventure." -- Kirkus
PRAISE FOR MAGONIA: "Maria Dahvana Headley is a firecracker: she's whip smart with a heart, and she writes like a dream." -- Neil Gaiman, bestselling author of The Graveyard Book and Coraline
"Magonia is magical. A high-flying, refreshing, and literally out-of-the-blue fantasy with great characters, emotional depth, and a unique fantasy world that I never saw coming." -- Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Red Queen
"Headley riffs like an improv comic... funny, furious, and vulnerable. The haunting conclusion leaves many issues unresolved, but the ferocious, intelligent power of Aza and Jason's bond is completely affirmed. Sweeping, strange, and richly imagined, the novel is ideal for fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"With lush writing, memorable world building, and an array of peculiar characters, this is sure to thrill readers looking for a distinctive, imaginative tale in the vein of Laini Taylor and Neil Gaiman." -- Booklist
"The painful, sarcastic beauty of Aza's interactions down below in the everyday world begs comparisons to John Green's The Fault in Our Stars." -- Kirkus
"The book races to an epic confrontation that will leave readers thrilled... romance, danger, and world-building combine." -- School Library Journal
"The sweeping, lyrical language in both parts of the book is captivating, with haunting scenes woven from carefully chosen, sharply evocative descriptions." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"[A] weird, unique, and beautifully crafted book." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

You may also be interested in...

Noughts & Crosses
Added to basket
All the Bright Places
Added to basket
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Everything, Everything
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Thirteen Reasons Why
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.49
Paperback
Goodnight Mister Tom
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Holding Up the Universe
Added to basket
INK
Added to basket
INK
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket
Things a Bright Girl Can Do
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Sun is Also a Star
Added to basket
The Hazel Wood
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Return to Magonia in this electric sequel!”

How far can you go to keep someone safe, before it can tear you apart? Aerie follows up to te wonderful Magonia with this question in mind as Aza Ray returns to Earth in a new body, and struggles to find where her... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
4th October 2016
Helpful? Upvote 35

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.