The Testaments out now
Adorno on Politics after Auschwitz (Hardback)
  • Adorno on Politics after Auschwitz (Hardback)
zoom

Adorno on Politics after Auschwitz (Hardback)

(author)
£60.00
Hardback 146 Pages / Published: 30/12/2015
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
This book offers a close reading of Adorno's more explicitly political writings and his work on fascist and anti-Semitic propaganda, and argues for the continuing relevance of these works for contemporary political practice. Adorno's criticism of political violence and mass movements has, surprisingly, yet to be brought to bear upon contemporary developments in critical theory in the vein of Slavoj Zizek and Alan Badiou. Since a significant portion of this book is dedicated to offering an Adornian response to Zizek, it situates Adorno in the contemporary discussion on strategies for resistance to global capitalism.

Publisher: Lexington Books
ISBN: 9781498515740
Number of pages: 146
Weight: 345 g
Dimensions: 239 x 157 x 15 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
In a way that is both broad-ranging in its treatment of themes from Adorno's work and narrowly focused on exploring how they are influenced by the horrors of the Holocaust, Gary Mullen's Adorno on Politics After Auschwitz reminds us that we can valuably reframe our understanding of an author by taking a familiar argument to new depths. . . . [T]hose who read this book will encounter an author who is very informed, perceptive, and knowledgeable about Adorno's own writings. Mullen's in-depth analysis on Adorno's response to Auschwitz will help clarify and sharpen the perspective even of those scholars who are familiar in general terms with the significance of the Holocaust on his thought. * Canadian Society for Continental Philosophy *
Gary Mullen delivers a spirited defense of Adorno's oft-maligned attempt to bring critical theory to bear on the history of European domination. By attending to the eschatological deep structure of Adorno's philosophical project, Mullen deftly counters the popular interpretation of Adorno as a lapsed (and perhaps jaded) champion of reason and enlightenment. As portrayed by Mullen, in fact, Adorno is properly understood as calling for an intensification of the project of European enlightenment and as directing the critical power of reason toward the particularity of human suffering. As Mullen ably demonstrates, the normative power of Adorno's contribution to critical theory derives from his candid confrontation with the Holocaust, which, Adorno believed, obliges us to re-think the nature and purchase of political judgment. This is an impressive, urgent, and deeply humane book. Adorno on Politics will be a valuable resource for students and scholars alike. -- Daniel Conway, Texas A&M University

You may also be interested in...

The Social Contract
Added to basket
Meditations
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Utopia for Realists
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Book of Joy
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.49
Hardback
Remarkable Minds
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Meditations
Added to basket
£10.00
Hardback
The Road Less Travelled
Added to basket
The Tipping Point
Added to basket
The Prince
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Art of Logic
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The School of Life
Added to basket
I Am Dynamite!
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Lessons in Stoicism
Added to basket
The Order of Time
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Enlightenment Now
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.