A Woman Unknown: Book 4 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)
  • A Woman Unknown: Book 4 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)
zoom

A Woman Unknown: Book 4 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 01/03/2013
  • 10+ in stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Excellent' Literary Review

'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' Ann Granger

The Woman Unknown: Deirdre Fitzpatrick is married to a man who wants to know where she really goes when supposedly taking care of her sick mother and calls on the expertise of Kate Shackleton, amateur sleuth extraordinaire to investigate.

The Gentleman: Everett Runcie is a banker facing ruin and disgrace. His American heiress wife will no longer pay for his mistakes, or tolerate his infidelity, and is seeking a divorce.

The Murder: When a chambermaid enters Runcie's hotel room, she is shocked to find that he is alone - and dead! Suddenly Kate is thrown into the depths of an altogether more sinister investigation. Can she uncover the truth of her most complex, and personal, case to date?

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780749954970
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 278 g
Dimensions: 195 x 127 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Neatly plotted . . . a classic Golden Age whodunnit * The Independent on Sunday *
[An] engaging and resourceful 1920s heroine; a deftly constructed, intriguing period piece * Good Book Guide *
It is rare to find an author that brings character so much to life that they become like real friends but Frances Brody is certainly such one . . . her Kate Shackleton books are so entertaining, well-constructed, and well written that, when finished, the reader feels bereft; but there is always anticipation for the next one * Ryedale Gazette & Herald *
Fabulous . . . Such details as cloche hats, Yorkshire pudding, and 'grand country houses' provide period flavor, while more serious historical matters, such as cultural attitudes toward divorce and adultery, prove germane to the plot. Snappy dialogue and a cast of well-developed minor characters are a plus * Publishers Weekly *
Brody's spirited and stalwart protagonist has found her true calling in solving mysteries, and her fourth case (after Murder in the Afternoon) holds true. Fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie will enjoy these historical mysteries set in 1920s England * American Library Journal *

You may also be interested in...

The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Fifty-Fifty
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Silent Death
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hidden in Plain Sight
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Twelve Days of Winter
Added to basket
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
How the Dead Speak
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Christmas is Murder
Added to basket

“Good series”

Enjoying this series. Book four continues the excellent characters and is a very good mystery novel. Like all of the books in the series all of Kate's scenes are written first person but I thought it was good... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.