A Woman of War (Paperback)
  • A Woman of War (Paperback)
zoom

A Woman of War (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 386 Pages / Published: 21/03/2019
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Kate Furnivall comes a gritty tale of courage, betrayal and love in the most unlikely of places.

Also published as The German Midwife.

`A powerful, haunting debut' Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network

`Incredibly powerful, harrowing but ultimately uplifting. I couldn't put this down.' Katie Fforde, author of A Rose Petal Summer

`A fascinating story which had me forgetting it's fiction! So well written, I was left pondering if the events could actually be true. Enthralling!' Kitty Neale, author of A Sister's Sorrow

`Absorbing and totally believable - a wonderful WW2 novel.' Molly Green, author of An Orphan's War

`I cannot give enough praise for A Woman of War. This is definitely #1 on my list of [historical fiction] books I've read in 2018.' NetGalley Reviewer

`If you are looking for a page turner, this is it. I read the book cover to cover in 48 hours. If I could give this book a 6/5 stars I would!' NetGalley Reviewer

`The writing was excellent and the characters realistic [...] an interesting and thoughtful page turner.' NetGalley Reviewer

`Very compelling.' NetGalley Reviewer

Germany, 1944. Taken from the camps to serve the Fuhrer himself, Anke Hoff is assigned as midwife to one of Hitler's inner circle. If she refuses, her family will die.

Torn between her duty as a caregiver and her hatred for the Nazi regime, Anke is swept into a life unlike anything she's ever known - and she discovers that many of those at the Berghof are just as trapped as she is. And soon, she's falling for a man who will make her world more complicated still...

Before long, the couple is faced with an impossible choice - and the consequences could be deadly. Can their forbidden love survive the horrors of war? And, more importantly, will they?

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008324247
Number of pages: 386
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

`Incredibly powerful, harrowing but ultimately uplifting. I couldn't put this down.' Katie Fforde

`A fascinating story which had me forgetting it's fiction! So well written, I was left pondering if the events could actually be true. Enthralling!' Kitty Neale

`Absorbing and totally believable - a wonderful WW2 novel.' Molly Green

`I cannot give enough praise for A Woman of War. This is definitely #1 on my list of historical fiction books I've read in 2018.' NetGalley Reviewer

`If you are looking for a page turner, this is it. I read the book cover to cover in 48 hours. If I could give this book a 6/5 Stars I would!' NetGalley Reviewer

`The writing was excellent and the characters realistic [...] an interesting and thoughtful page turner.' NetGalley Reviewer

`Very compelling.' NetGalley Reviewer

`This book absolutely DESTROYED me. I went into it with high expectations, and I certainly wasn't let down.' NetGalley Reviewer

You may also be interested in...

Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Pure
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
An Echo in the Bone
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
The King's Curse
Added to basket
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.