A Wolf in Hindelheim (Paperback)
  • A Wolf in Hindelheim (Paperback)
zoom

A Wolf in Hindelheim (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 06/03/2014
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
An atmospheric and gripping novel from an exciting new voice for fans of The Snow Child and The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared. South-West Germany, 1926. The disappearance of a baby girl calls for Constable Theodore Hildebrandt and his son Klaus to visit the remote village of Hindelheim, a place where nothing ever happens. But the news of the missing baby has brought darkness to the community. It is as if someone or something wicked is playing a game. As the wind blows and the mist thickens, tensions rise amongst the villagers as everyone falls under suspicion. And when the rumours begin and secrets start to unravel, the quiet village of Hindelheim is set to change for ever.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9780099558972
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 252 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"A strong, atmospheric debut" * The List *
"Historical crime fiction is enjoying something of a golden moment and with her often ingenious and unusual debut, Jenny Mayhew adds significantly to the genre." * The Scotsman *
"Richly imagined ... A lusty tale of pre-war eugenics that cleverly pre-figures the historical horrors to come." * Independent *
"Mayhew can definitely write... with a richness and intelligence, and never a sense of showing-off... [A Wolf in Hindelheim has] a wide-reaching subject matter pinned down to a strong plot; and in every short chapter a sign that this is an author to watch." * The Bookbag *

You may also be interested in...

Three Things About Elsie
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Love Letter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Discovery of Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Wild Fire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Crazy Rich Asians
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Love is Blind
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
A Question of Trust
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Transcription
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback

Reviews

View all

“A Wolf in Hindelheim”

This is a deeply claustrophobic novel, set wonderfully in a bleak and backward 1920s rural Germany that feels far more as though it belongs to a medieval rather than twentieth century world. Hindelheim is a typical... More

Paperback edition
13th February 2014
Helpful? Upvote 33
Bookread2day

“recommend”

A Wolf in Hindelheim is Jenny Mayhew's very first novel. I give Jenny full praise as this story must of took a long time to write. So many twist and turns with wonderfull characters. This is with no question one... More

Paperback edition
26th February 2014
Helpful? Upvote 27

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.