A Well-Behaved Woman: a novel of the Vanderbilts (Paperback)
  • A Well-Behaved Woman: a novel of the Vanderbilts (Paperback)
zoom

A Well-Behaved Woman: a novel of the Vanderbilts (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 05/09/2019
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Sure to enthral' Harper's Bazaar 'Captivating . . . I dare you not to dive right in' Paula McClain,author of The Paris Wife 'This is a wonderful book!' Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves 'A must-read masterpiece' Caroline Leavitt, author of Pictures of You

OUTSPOKEN. BRAVE. BRILLIANT. FIERCE.

Alva Smith, her Southern family destitute after the Civil War, married into one of America's great Gilded Age dynasties: the newly wealthy but socially shunned Vanderbilts. Ignored by New York's old-money circles and determined to win respect, she designed and built nine mansions, hosted grand balls, and arranged for her daughter to marry a duke. But Alva also defied convention for women of her time, asserting power within her marriage and becoming a leader in the women's suffrage movement.

With a nod to Jane Austen and Edith Wharton, Therese Anne Fowler paints a glittering world of enormous wealth contrasted against desperate poverty, of social ambition and social scorn, of friendship and betrayal, and an unforgettable story of a remarkable woman.

GOOD BEHAVIOUR WILL ONLY GET A WOMAN SO FAR.

OPTIONED BY SONY PICTURES TELEVISION

*PRAISE FOR Z: A NOVEL OF ZELDA FITZGERALD, A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER*

'Brilliant. Read it, read it, read it' Daily Mail
'Superb' Independent on sunday
'Utterly compulsive reading' Stylist
'A treat' Sunday Times

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781473632493
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Captivating . . . I dare you not to dive right in * Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife *
Nothing short of mesmerising * Kirkus *
Sure to enthral * Harper's Bazaar *
As accomplished as its subject, redoubtable socialite and women's suffrage crusader Alva Vanderbilt Belmont, Fowler's engrossing successor to 2013's Z: a novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, again showcases her genius for seeing beyond the myths of iconic women * Publisher's Weekly *
This is a wonderful book! Fowler's portrait is so nuanced, so complicated by context, and so informed by her own capacious generosity that we can't help being drawn in * Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves *
Not just breathtakingly alive, but dazzlingly and profoundly timely. A must-read masterpiece. * Caroline Leavitt, the New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You *
A fascinating tale of Gilded Age manners and mores, and one remarkable woman's attempts to transcend them. * Chris Bohjalian, No.1 New York Times bestselling author of The Flight Attendant *
Activist, egalitarian, philanthropist, trailblazer - these are the qualities of a historic leader . . . Alva's gumption and glamour will resonate with modern women and remind all that history belongs to those who courageously persevere. A sparkling, powerful story that needs to be heard now more than ever. * Sarah McCoy, New York Times and international bestselling author of Marilla of Green Gables *
Immensely readable . . . an extraordinary portrait of a strong, fascinating woman * Christina Baker Kline, New York Times bestselling author of A Piece of the World *
Oh, how I loved every instant I spent in the world Fowler has recreated here . . . Prepare to be enthralled! * Elin Hilderbrand, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Couple *
The story of Alva Vanderbilt is long overdue for a telling, but it was worth the wait . . . a delicious book * Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Girls in the Picture *
With you-are-there immediacy fuelled by assured attention to biographical detail and deft weaving of labyrinthine intrigue, Fowler creates a thoroughly credible imagining of the challenges and emotional turmoil facing this fiercely independent woman * Booklist *
Fascinating * Garden & Gun *
In the vein of Fowler's Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, A Well-Behaved Woman follows the rise of another unsuspecting heroine of American history: Alva Vanderbilt * InStyle *
In this enticing novel, Therese Anne Fowler introduces us to Alva Smith Vanderbilt Belmont, a remarkable woman who was the epitome of the expression "well-behaved women seldom make history' * Good Housekeeping US *
Now's a good time to start adding to your collection of historical heroines. Alva Vanderbilt should be right up there. With A Well-Behaved Woman, Therese Anne Fowler repeats the same magic she did in her 2013 novel Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald: she fictionalises the story of one of American history's most fascinating women * Refinery29 *

You may also be interested in...

The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The White Princess
Added to basket
The White Queen
Added to basket
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
An Echo in the Bone
Added to basket
Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The King's Curse
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.