A Wartime Secret (Paperback)
  • A Wartime Secret (Paperback)
zoom

A Wartime Secret (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 17/03/2022
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 4-5 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

England, 1940. Can Maggie keep her family – and her secret – safe? An emotional and heartbreaking wartime novel for fans of Diney Costeloe, Dilly Court and Mandy Robotham.

When Maggie’s new job takes her from bombed-out London to grand Snowden Hall in the Cotswolds she’s apprehensive but determined to do her bit for the war effort. She’s also keeping a secret, one she knows would turn opinion against her. Her mother is German: Maggie is related to the enemy.

Then her evacuee sister sends her a worrying letter, missing the code they agreed Violet would use to confirm everything was well, and Maggie’s heart sinks. Violet is miles away; how can she get to her in the middle of a war? Worse, her mother, arrested for her nationality, is now missing, and Maggie has no idea where she is.

As a secret project at Snowden Hall risks revealing Maggie’s German side, she becomes even more determined to protect her family. Can she find a way to get to her sister? And will she ever find out where her mother has been taken?

Readers LOVE A Wartime Secret!

‘A must for fans of WWII stories. It has everything I enjoy in a book. Intrigue, romance, adventure and true friendship. Highly recommended.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Gorgeous story. I really enjoyed it.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘If you love wartime and family saga you will love this book.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Enjoyable… An entertaining, heart-warming novel that I can thoroughly recommend.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Plenty of twists (and some pleasingly teasing romances too)… Humour and spot-on period detail… Great fun to read… A hugely satisfying story. Highly recommended. NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008523114
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
Jeremy Poldark
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Lady's Maid
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Miss Buncle Married
Added to basket
The Mammoth Hunters
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
A Life's Music
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Forsyte Saga
Added to basket
Njal's Saga
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
A Woman of Substance
Added to basket
Warleggan
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Valley of Horses
Added to basket
The Best of Daughters
Added to basket
The Twisted Sword
Added to basket
Never Look Back
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Hothouse Flower
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“A Pleasant Read”

My thanks to NetGalley and publisher HQ, HQ Digital, for the electronic copy.

Now, this is a "nice" story which would make a decent Sunday afternoon film. Set in 1940 during WW2, we follow several months... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Life On The Homefront”

A Wartime Secret by Helen Yendall is an epic novel set during 1940 that mesmerized me from the start.
The reader hears about life on the homefront as we follow a group of bank employees as they are relocated from... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Superb historical fiction”

Anybody who knows me really well knows that not only am I a book geek, but I am also a history nerd with a special interest in the Second World War. So imagine my excitement when I read the synopsis for ‘A Wartime... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: