Ts&Cs
apply
A Trillion Trees: How We Can Reforest Our World (Hardback)
  • A Trillion Trees: How We Can Reforest Our World (Hardback)
zoom

A Trillion Trees: How We Can Reforest Our World (Hardback)

(author)
£20.00
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 05/08/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

For readers of Peter Wohlleben and Thomas Pakenham comes a riveting new history of humankind’s relationship to all things arboreal and how the destruction of forests can be reversed not by frantic programs of planting but by stepping back and allowing nature to take its course.

Trees keep our planet cool and breathable. They make the rain and sustain biodiversity. They are essential for nature and for us. And yet, we are cutting and burning them at such a rate that many forests are fast approaching tipping points beyond which they will simply shrivel and die. But there is still time, and there is still hope.

If we had a trillion more trees, the damage could be undone. So should we get planting? Not so fast. Fred Pearce argues in this inspiring new book that we can have our forests back, but mass planting should be a last resort. Instead, we should mostly stand back, make room and let nature - and those who dwell in the forests - do the rest.

Taking us from the barren sites of illegal logging and monocrop farming to the smouldering rainforests of the Amazon, Fred Pearce tells a revelatory new history of the relationship between humans and trees - and shows us how we can change it for the better.

Here we meet the pilot who discovered flying rivers, the village elders who are farming amid the trees, and the scientists challenging received wisdom. And we visit some of the world's most wondrous treescapes, from the orchid-rich moutaintops of Ecuador to the gnarled and ancient glades of the South Downs. Combining vivid travel writing with cutting edge science, A Trillion Trees is both an environmental call to arms and a celebration of our planet's vast arboreal riches.

Publisher: Granta Books
ISBN: 9781783786916
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 524 g
Dimensions: 234 x 153 x 22 mm

You may also be interested in...

Fifty Words for Snow
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Celebrating the Seasons with the Yorkshire Shepherdess
Added to basket
Earthshot
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Swan
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
A Year on Our Farm
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Around the World in 80 Plants
Added to basket
The Sea is Not Made of Water
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Living Planet
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Nests
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Entangled Life
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
English Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Vesper Flights
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Other Minds
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Diary of a Young Naturalist
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Almanac
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.