A Time to Lie (Paperback)
  • A Time to Lie (Paperback)
zoom

A Time to Lie (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 10/06/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

An explosive, fast-paced espionage thriller for fans of Frank Gardner and Mick Herron.

'Dark and twisted, A Time to Lie is a tense and timely novel' Adam Hamdy

A pulse-pounding thrill-ride' Chris Whitaker

A LONG-BURIED BODY.
On the morning of the Tory Party conference, the bones of a young woman's hand are discovered in a London building site.

A DIVISIVE PRIME MINISTER.
Prime Minister Robin Sandford is accused of killer her. With his career on the brink of ruin, he enlists the unofficial help of MI5. A decision which leads him into a new world of espionage, mass executions and murder.

A PLOT TO BRING HIM DOWN...
The deeper he goes, the more treacherous the game becomes. And if he fails to expose the truth, the whole country will pay the price...

'A pulse-pounding thrill-ride' Chris Whitaker

'Dark and twisted, a tense and timely novel' Adam Hamdy

'Masterful ... I was completely absorbed' Daily Record

'Brims with tension' Sunday Post

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008214500
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 290 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Classy novel. Simon Berthon is a deft guide to the darker recesses of a fictional British state. A well-crafted, informed thriller' Financial Times

'For those seeking a light break from real political intrigue, I recommend new political thriller A Time to Lie by distinguished TV producer Simon Berthon. A light summer read, it's an amusingly accurate portrayal of modern politics and journalism' Michael Crick

'Entertaining and shocking. Full of good characters and interesting relationships, this is not only a clever thriller but also an indictment of the way the UK's political system works' Literary Review

'A pleasantly thrilling read ... the scene setting and tension building is masterful ... I was completely absorbed' Daily Record

'With deception at every turn, Berthon delivers masterful character development amid a tangle of sub-plots that both disguise and enrich the main story arc. Cleverly paced and meticulously planned, A Time To Lie will have you racing toward the ending, where politics and journalism collide in a bid to uncover the truth' Press Association

'Brims with tension . . . Masterful characterisation and a maze of sub-plots enrich this cleverly paced thriller' Sunday Post

"A brilliant book . . . wonderful, indulgent, devilishly entertaining . . . there's a truthfulness, an authenticity . . . a rip-roaring read, it's going to cause much sleep deprivation" Mark Dolan, Talk Radio.

'One of five big releases ... A political thriller about a corrupt prime minister embroiled in a murder scandal' Independent

'An insightful journey through corridors of power walked by those with terrible secrets. Dark and twisted, A Time to Lie is a tense and timely novel' Adam Hamdy

'A pulse-pounding thrill-ride that hooked me from the chilling opening, A Time To Lie delivers on every, explosive level' Chris Whitaker

'Utterly gripping from the first chapter to the unexpected ending' Gavin Esler

You may also be interested in...

Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One by One
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Beautiful Spy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Apples Never Fall
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Coffinmaker's Garden
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last House on Needless Street
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Win
Added to basket
Win
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night Hawks
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Anxious People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night Gate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback

“Cracking political thriller”

Fast paced with good characterisations. A page turner from beginning to end and completely believable especially in this age of modern politics. The action sequences are also well judged and you could almost be... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“A thoroughly enjoyable read”

This was a thrilling, political/ spy thriller. Lots of innuendo. twist and turns, truth and lies. A fascinating storyline with really good characterisation and believable actions. A thoroughly enjoyable read.

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Five Star Read”

This book is so fast paced I felt like I was on a runaway train.
A real political twister it’s just an excellent read. Is the PM really hiding a dirty past or is he being set up? I couldn’t put the book down because... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.