A Taste of Gold and Iron (Paperback)
  • A Taste of Gold and Iron (Paperback)
zoom

A Taste of Gold and Iron (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 592 Pages
Published: 08/06/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A hunting party gone awry, dangerous ambitions and rumours of conspiracy set the stage for a spellbinding tale of loyalty and revenge in Rowland’s mesmerising new fantasy romance.

A sweeping fantasy romance inspired by the Ottoman Empire, A Taste of Gold and Iron by Alexandra Rowland is perfect for fans of A Marvellous Light and The Goblin Emperor.

One false coin could topple an empire. Kadou, the shy prince of Arasht, has no intention of wrestling for imperial control with his sister, the queen.

Yet he remains at odds with one of the most powerful ambassadors at court - the father of the queen's new child. Then a hunting party goes terribly awry, and Kadou finds himself under suspicion of attempted murder.

To prove his loyalty to his sister and salvage his reputation, Kadou takes responsibility for the investigation of a break-in at one of their guilds. He enlists the help of his newly appointed bodyguard, the coldly handsome Evemer, who seems to tolerate him at best.

But what appears to be a straightforward crime spirals into a complex counterfeiting operation, with a powerful enemy at its heart.

In Arasht, where princes can touch-taste precious metals with their fingers and myth runs side by side with history, counterfeiting is heresy. The conspiracy they discover could cripple the kingdom's financial standing - and bring about its ruin.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781529099676
Number of pages: 592
Weight: 412 g
Dimensions: 196 x 131 x 41 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A delicious tangle of romance, fealty and dangerous politics - Tasha Suri, author of The Jasmine Throne

A Taste of Gold and Iron is a slow-burn romance flush with sexy, complicated relationships, founded on the ethics of duty and love. As indulgent and satisfying as your favourite fan fiction - Tessa Gratton, author of The Queen of Innis Lear

Witty, clever, and often extremely funny, Rowland's tale of a prince who doesn't want power but has it anyway – and must survive all the risks that brings with it – somehow manages to be both soft and hard-edged, clever and kind. And sexy! Very much that too - Jenn Lyons, author of The Ruin of Kings

This book gleams and sparkles with emotion and sensory detail, showcasing the richness of Rowland's created world. It's a hugely satisfying blend of economic intrigue, vivid characters, and slow-burn romance – and it's also, frequently, funny as hell - Freya Marske, author of A Marvellous Light

Alexandra Rowland delivers again – an engaging story in a complex, intricately rendered world full of deeply human, sensitively drawn characters - Rowenna Miller, author of Torn

In exploring what monarchs owe their people, and what individuals owe each other, this achingly tender fantasy wows - Publishers Weekly starred review

Rowland's latest continues to showcase their captivating prose, immersive details, and complicated characters - Library Journal starred review

An engaging fantasy/romance set in a large, lush, and inclusive world - Kirkus starred review

The slow-burn romance between them is beautifully done and adds a thrilling element to the story that readers will savor - Booklist

[F]or readers who enjoy forced proximity and bodyguard romances, A Taste of Gold and Iron offers both, wrapped in a delightful package of espionage and royal duty . . . Rowland also impresses in their nuanced depiction of anxiety - Bookpage

This slow-burn romantic fantasy with a heavy dose of political intrigue is rich in world-building and emotional angst . . . A queernormative fantasy world - Buzzfeed

You may also be interested in...

Shadow of Night
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Autumn Rose
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Silver Borne
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Slave to Sensation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Tangle of Need
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Play of Passion
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Kiss of Snow
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Moonglow
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Firelight
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Dinner with a Vampire
Added to basket
Wicked
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Hostage to Pleasure
Added to basket
Visions of Heat
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Scent Of Magic
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
River Marked
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Bone Crossed
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“This book took my breath away”

Queer fantasies will forever hold a special place in my heart. I grew up reading all the big YA fantasies and was disappointed every single time I didn’t see myself represented in the stories. Now that I am an adult,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

“This book took my breath away”

Queer fantasies will forever hold a special place in my heart. I grew up reading all the big YA fantasies and was disappointed every single time I didn’t see myself represented in the stories. Now that I am an adult,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

“Fantasy Romance at its Finest”

I've been a fan of Alexandra Rowland ever since they blew me away with their Chant series and I was beyond excited to hear of their new fantasy romance release. I was not in the least disappointed and a Taste of... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: