Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
A Storey Street novel: The War Next Door - A Storey Street novel (Paperback)
  • A Storey Street novel: The War Next Door - A Storey Street novel (Paperback)
zoom

A Storey Street novel: The War Next Door - A Storey Street novel (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
£6.99
Paperback 224 Pages / Published: 06/10/2016
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
The third hilarious children's novel from Demolition Dad and Superhero Street author Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams. Masher is the bully of Storey Street. No one ever dares stand up to him and that's the way he likes it. But then Jemima and her family move into the plot of land next door. Jemima isn't afraid of him at all, and she's making him look like a bit of a wimp. To Masher, that just means one thing: war. (At least until teatime...)

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444013917
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 218 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 17 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This is a hilarious book that encourages children to put themselves in someone else's shoes. * THE INDEPENDENT *
These books have all the humour and slapstick you'd expect, but it's their enormous heart and genuine diversity that makes them stand out in a very crowded genre. -- Fiona Noble * The Bookseller *
Warm-hearted fun * The Daily Mail on SUPERHERO STREET *
A laugh-out-loud read full of capes and japes! If you like Superheroes this is right down your Street! * Danny Wallace, presenter and bestselling author, on SUPERHERO STREET *
Phil "BOOKCRUSHER" Earle has written one, funny, fabulous, pile driving BLAST of a book. (Read it in Lycra for full wrestling experience.) * Liz Pichon on DEMOLITION DAD *
Sara Ogilvie's beautifully drawn illustrations add real life and humour * David Tazzyman, illustrator of MR GUM *
Down to earth humour, somewhat silly and decidedly positive, this is a lively read that children will thoroughly enjoy * Parents In Touch *
This very funny story has emotive undertones that give us plenty of food for thought * Primary Times *
...there's a lot of affection here, as we watch Masher's transformation over the chapters. It's very refreshing to see him presented as a rounded character. Throw into the mix Ogilvie's deliciously detailed sketches, and this is a fun read, indeed. * BookTrust *
This is the third instalment of the Storey Street series by Yorkshire author Phil Earle as he expands the ever-engaging story street with a brilliant female hero * Big Issue (North) *
Part of the Storey Street series, Phil Earle's book has all the usual wit, pace and silliness * Book Trust *
This is Earle's best to date: the hilarity and rapid pace are balanced by the very real issues of dealing with emotions, bullying and conforming to expectations. A fun and heart-warming read, peppered with wit * Inis *
Aimed at younger children, this novel has plenty of twists and intrigue to keep readers engaged but also touches on some larger issues: the unhappiness of bullies and the importance of having the courage to do the Right Thing * School Librarian *
Hilarious and heartfelt it's really unusual to see the bully at the centre of the story. Instead of Masher being a one dimensional baddy, Phil allows us to see how his personality has been shaped and influenced by a dastardly, devious Dad. It has an emotional depth to it which I found really touching. * Book Lover Jo *

You may also be interested in...

The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Fing
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Demon Dentist
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dog Man 7: For Whom the Ball Rolls
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
Oi Duck-billed Platypus!
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
What Monster? (Tom Gates #15) (PB)
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Dog Man 5: Lord of the Fleas PB
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Christmasaurus and the Winter Witch
Added to basket
Oi Cat!
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Beast of Buckingham Palace
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Wrecking Ball
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
The World's Worst Children
Added to basket
The Dinky Donkey (PB)
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Bad Dad
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Taylor TurboChaser
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
We Are The Beaker Girls
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.