Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
A Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad - A Storey Street novel (Paperback)
  • A Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad - A Storey Street novel (Paperback)
zoom

A Storey Street novel: Demolition Dad - A Storey Street novel (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 192 Pages / Published: 07/05/2015
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

CBBC Book of the Month, June 2017

Perfect for fans of David Walliams, Roald Dahl and Liz Pichon, this is a hilarious and warm-hearted story about family, friends and wrestling by multi-award-shortlisted author Phil Earle, illustrated by award-winning artist, Sara Ogilvie.

This is the story of Jake Biggs and his dad, George. George spends all week knocking down buildings ... and all weekend knocking down wrestlers! He's the Demolition Man, and Jake couldn't be prouder. But when Jake hears about a pro-wrestling competition in the USA, and persuades his beloved dad to apply, things don't quite turn out the way he expected ...

Phil Earle's first novel for younger readers of 9-11, DEMOLITION DAD is DANNY THE CHAMPION OF THE WORLD in Spandex, a book bursting with humour and heart. Perfect for Father's Day this June!

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444013863
Number of pages: 192
Weight: 198 g
Dimensions: 198 x 150 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Underneath the high-octane humour and silliness, Earle weaves in powerful themes of father/son relationships, bullying, depression, self-esteem, failure and even frustrated career women. But mostly of love. This is a gloriously life-affirming novel: funny, sensitive, intelligent and with a heart as big as George's waistline. * Daily Mail *
Masses of humour, heart, some cracking jokes and moments of real poignancy * The Bookseller *
A light-hearted, funny story with a nail-biting conclusion ... The story whizzes along, while Sarah Ogilvie's humorous line drawings are a perfect complement to the text. The first of a promised series, Demolition Dad will be enjoyed by even the most reluctant of readers * The School Librarian *
The writing is laugh-aloud funny, as are the antics ... this book has jokes that will appeal to adults and kids alike * Kieran Fanning *
A heart-warming story with a very happy ending. The multiple award-winning Sara Ogilvie and her scratchy comic drawings make a perfect foil for this lively and affectionate story. * Books for Keeps *
This book was so fun my parents got angry I wasn't coming to eat lunch! -- Cara * The Guardian *
A warm, funny and genuinely touching story of family relationships, in a lycra wrapping -- Andrea Reece * Love Reading 4 Kids *
The author creates a chatty relationship with the reader, with nifty asides and jokey puns as he weaves a quirky and frankly ridiculous story ... a very funny book for 8-10 year olds, who, I'm sure, will love it * School Librarian *
Phil "BOOKCRUSHER" Earle has written one funny, fabulous, pile driving BLAST of a book. (Read it in Lycra for full wrestling experience.) * LIZ PICHON, author of TOM GATES *
Sara Ogilvie's beautifully drawn illustrations add real life and humour * DAVID TAZZYMAN, illustrator of MR GUM *
The funniest book I've read this year. It's a wonderful mix of heart, wit and wrestling Lycra * KATHERINE RUNDELL, author of ROOFTOPPERS *
Warm, funny and heartfelt ... A phenomenal book * ROBIN STEVENS, author of MURDER MOST UNLADYLIKE *
The humour is woven through a story which is full of well formed characters and, as well as the slapstick, the book also deals with realistically portrayed emotions and relationships, dreams, harsh realities, media manipulation, families and friendship ... It's definitely one children will want to return to * CENTRE FOR LITERACY IN PRIMARY EDUCATION *
Contemporary stories involving long-term loving relations between father and son other than Roald Dahl's Danny the Champion of the World are not always easy to find, and Phil Earle plugs this gap to the full. * BOOKS FOR KEEPS *
Sweet story of friendship with highly emotive illustrations which will resonate with those with younger siblings. A warm sharing read, well worth having. * PETERS BOOKSELLERS *
Phil Earle's fictional father comes about as close to Danny the Champion's Dad as I can find. However, as with much children's fiction I've been reading recently, this is a depiction of a modern Dad who fits right into our current world... If you buy your Dad just one book this Father's Day - make it this one (then keep it for yourself). * MINERVA READS *
A wrestling story with heart. Funny and very, very readable! * THE BOOKBAG *
A brilliant story about family and caring... Phil Earle has a turn of phrase that is second to none. The illustrations by the talented Sarah Ogilvie bring the story to life ... a brilliant combination of illustration and text * CAROUSEL *

You may also be interested in...

Queen of Air and Darkness
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Paperback
The Truth Pixie
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Mr Stink
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
Nevermoor: Nevermoor
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Girl Who Saved Christmas
Added to basket
Isadora Moon Makes Winter Magic
Added to basket
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Jolly Christmas Postman
Added to basket
The World's Worst Children
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Flamingo Boy
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
One Snowy Night
Added to basket
Zog Christmas
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Ice Monster
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Father Christmas and Me
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“A Real Slobberknocker”

Jake thinks his dad is the best. By day, George Biggs demolishes buildings and Jake thinks that he's the best demolition man there is. But every Saturday, he becomes Demolition Man, a masked mountain of a... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
19th June 2015
Helpful? Upvote 26

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.