A Spring Betrayal: An Inspector Akyl Borubaev Thriller (2) - An Inspector Akyl Borubaev Thriller (Hardback)
  • A Spring Betrayal: An Inspector Akyl Borubaev Thriller (2) - An Inspector Akyl Borubaev Thriller (Hardback)
zoom

A Spring Betrayal: An Inspector Akyl Borubaev Thriller (2) - An Inspector Akyl Borubaev Thriller (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 21/04/2016
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Inspector Akyl Borubaev's Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan is a lawless post-Soviet metropolis rife with corruption and vice. A hard-hitting thriller for fans of Tom Rob Smith and Gorky Park.

We uncovered the last of the bodies in the red hour before dusk, as the sun stained the snowcaps of the Tian Shan mountains the colour of dried blood and the spring air turned sharp and cold . . .

Inspector AkylBorubaev of Bishkek Murder Squad has been exiled to the far corner of Kyrgyzstan, but death still haunts him at every turn. Borubaev soon finds himself caught up in a mysterious and gruesome new case: several children's bodies have been found buried together - all tagged with name bands. In his search for the truth behind the brutal killings, Borubaev hits a wall of silence, with no one to turn to outside his sometime lover, the beautiful undercover agent Saltanat Umarova.

When Borubaev himself is framed, accused of involvement in the production of blood-soaked child pornography, it looks as though things couldn't get any worse. With the investigation at a dangerous standstill, Borubaev sets out to save his own integrity, and to deliver his own savage justice on behalf of the many dead who can't speak for themselves . . .

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781848669741
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 422 g
Dimensions: 234 x 156 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Even better than Child 44. Akyl Borubaev is a terrific creation * Anthony Horowitz *
Just keeps getting better . . . buy the whole series right away * Peter Robinson, author of the bestselling DCI Banks series *
Storytelling of the highest quality . . . Introduces a detective it is impossible not to believe in. Callaghan is a new voice to be welcomed * Daily Mail *
Not since Child 44 have I read something that's left such a memorable impression * Sebastian Fitzek on A Killing Winter *
This is a thrilling, intense debut from a powerfully descriptive writer * The Daily Express *
[Tom Callaghan's] gloomy atmospheric portrait convinces and he writes with style and panache . . . A lively story and a riveting glimpse of an unknown society * The Times *
A Killing Winter is a brilliant debut, and an early contender for one of my top reads of the year * Raven Crime Reads *
Unforgettable * The Sunday Times *
His [Tom Callaghan's] descriptions are wonderful - sickeningly so in fact * The Bookbag *
It's brutal but not cynical; you feel it. It's a hugely impressive debut; atmospheric and stirring * Killing Time Crime *
Callaghan is a hell of a writer, with a tremendous sense of pace and an arch ear for juicy dialogue, and the pages fly by. * Crime Thriller Fella *
This is a wonderful book . . . the narrative is savage yet at the same time beautifully crafted . . . A Killing Winter satisfies on so many levels * Milo Rambles *
Ticks all the boxes of plot, setting and character. * The Crime Warp *
The story and writing sustained me right through to the killer twist ending * Book Bonding *
Fast-paced and enthralling * Written by Sime *
The denouement is suitably surprising and satisfactory. I got there breathless and tense * Thriller books journal *
Tom Callaghan is a name to watch * Promoting Crime Fiction *

You may also be interested in...

The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Anxious People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Transient Desires
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Murder on a Winter's Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night Gate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last House on Needless Street
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Left You Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.