A Psalm For Lost Girls (Paperback)
  • A Psalm For Lost Girls (Paperback)
zoom

A Psalm For Lost Girls (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 01/04/2018
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Tess da Costa is a saint - a hand to god, miracle-producing saint. At least that's what the people in her hometown of New Avon seem to believe. And when Tess suddenly passes away, her small community is eager to get the Pope's stamp of approval to make it official. But Tess's sister, Callie, knows the real Tess, and can't stand to see the memory of her sister tainted by religious hocus-pocus. The fervor around Tess's canonisation only grows when Ana Langone, a local girl who's been missing for six months, is found alive at the foot of one of Tess's shrines. With the help of Tess's secret ex-boyfriend Danny, Callie's determined to prove that Tess was something far more important than a saint; she was her sister, and her best friend. But Callie's efforts uncover much more than she bargained for - a hidden diary, old family secrets, and maybe even the truth behind Ana's kidnapping. Told through alternating perspectives, A Psalm for Lost Girls is at once soulful, a little creepy and definitely funny - an impressive debut from a new star in the making.

Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
ISBN: 9780399545276
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 316 g
Dimensions: 208 x 139 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for A Psalm for Lost Girls
A Barnes & Noble Most Anticipated YA Debut of 2017
A Bustle Most Anticipated Young Adult Debut of 2017
A Spring 2017 Amazon Pick - Spring's Best Young Adult Fiction

"[A] gripping story of loss and grace. . . . Richly and evocatively written, Bayerl's story is ideal for fans of Jandy Nelson and Melina Marchetta."--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Fans of realistic fiction, mystery, or crime thrillers will find themselves at home in this spectacular debut. . . . A compelling must-have for YA collections."--School Library Journal, starred review

"Now and then comes a book that is able to put it all together: real and compelling characters, page-turning suspense, brilliant writing. This is one of those books."--Francisco X. Stork, award-winning author of Marcelo in the Real World and The Last Summer of the Death Warriors

"[P]acked with vivid cultural scenery, this ambitious debut offers readers a journey worth taking."--Kirkus Reviews

"Many issues are presented in Bayerl's novel--mental illness, modern sainthood, sisterly love, family dynamics, romance--giving it wide appeal among readers."--VOYA

"Ideal for fans of both mysteries and character-driven novels."--Booklist

"Lyrical and nuanced . . . Bayerl's debut will appeal to a wide range of readers. . . . A haunting tale of family, first love, and miracles."--RT Book Reviews

"A mystery, a thriller, and a prayer, gripping and anguished, told in the poignant weaving of voices from beyond and voices left behind."--Julie Berry, Printz Honor author of The Passion of Dolssa

You may also be interested in...

Ghosts of the Shadow Market
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Getaway (book 12)
Added to basket
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit
Added to basket
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Not My Fault
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn
Added to basket
Head Kid
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Bad Dad
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.