A Murder Inside - Brackerley Prison Mysteries (Paperback)
  • A Murder Inside - Brackerley Prison Mysteries (Paperback)
zoom

A Murder Inside - Brackerley Prison Mysteries (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99 £7.49
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 28/10/2021
  • Save £1.50
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Has a charm, and mystery, all of its own' The Times

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' Daily Mail

The first historical mystery in a new classic crime series from bestselling author Frances Brody. This is the perfect locked room page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie and Jacqueline Winspear.
___________

1969. A job in the Prison Service is not for everyone. The training is hard, the cells are bleak and a thick skin is needed. But for Nell Lewis, helping prisoners is something she cares about deeply, and when she's promoted into a new post as governor of HMP Brackerley in Yorkshire, she's tasked with transforming the renowned run-down facility into a modern, open prison for women.

Just as Nell is settling into her new role, events take a dark turn when a man's body is discovered in the prison grounds. The mystery deepens still when one of their female inmates goes missing, ensuing a search across the country.

Can Nell resolve the sinister happenings at HMP Brackerley, before anyone else is put in danger?
___________

What readers are saying about Frances Brody:

'Witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' Ann Cleeves

'A splendid heroine' Ann Granger

'An engagingly forthright and indefatigable investigator' Irish Times

'Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish' Barry Turner, Daily Mail

'The series is right up there with Miss Marple' Sunday Sport

'Delightful' People's Friend

'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences' Literary Review

'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT Book Reviews

'In Yorkshire we are proud to have such a first-rate crime novelist in our county' Yorkshire Gazette & Herald

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349423104
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 220 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 18 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
With a competent, dynamic and likeable heroine, and an environment packed with stories great and small, it's hard to see how this series would fail * Morning Star *
Praise for Frances Brody:
Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers * Daily Mail *
Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive -- Ann Cleeves
Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine -- Ann Granger
Delightful * People's Friend *
Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish -- Barry Turner * Daily Mail *
Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences. As self-reliant women in a society that still regards them a second-class citizens, they make excellent heroines * Literary Review *
I really adore this series and Kate is such a strong, level-headed character * Woman's Way *
Has a charm, and mystery, all of its own * The Times *

You may also be interested in...

The Killings at Kingfisher Hill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
Cinderella Goes to the Morgue
Added to basket
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Family Upstairs
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Honjin Murders
Added to basket
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
And Then There Were None
Added to basket
The Village of Eight Graves
Added to basket
Murder by the Book
Added to basket
The Feast
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Iced
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Death on the Nile
Added to basket
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd
Added to basket
Murder on the Orient Express
Added to basket

“Why are Frances Brody’s books so good?”

When I heard that Frances Brody was starting a new series, I thought “Oh, no! But what about Kate Shackleton?”. The good – no, brilliant – news is that this new book, about Nell Lewis, is emphatically just as... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A New Murder Mystery Series Set Inside A Prison”

Nell Lewis #1

1969. A job in the prison service is not for everyone. The training is hard, the cells are dark and a thick skin is needed. But for Nell Lewis, helping prisoners is something she cares about deeply,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.