A Monk's Guide to a Clean House and Mind (Paperback)
  • A Monk's Guide to a Clean House and Mind (Paperback)
zoom

A Monk's Guide to a Clean House and Mind (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£4.99
Paperback 144 Pages / Published: 04/01/2018
  • 10+ in stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Live clean. Feel calm. Be happy. We remove dust to sweep away our worldly cares. We live simply and take time to contemplate the self, mindfully living each moment.

It's not just monks that need to live this way. Everyone in today's busy world needs it.In Japan, cleanliness is next to enlightenment.

This bestselling guide by a Zen Buddhist monk draws on ancient traditions to show you how a few simple changes to your daily habits - from your early morning routine to preparing food, from respecting the objects around you to working together as a team - will not only make your home calmer and cleaner, but will leave you feeling refreshed, happier and more fulfilled.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781846149696
Number of pages: 144
Weight: 119 g
Dimensions: 180 x 120 x 10 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The most unusual self-help book of 2018 ... There is something surprisingly calming about just reading the book, hearing Matsumoto's simple instructions and admiring the clean pen drawings of Japanese sandals and brooms -- Jane Fryer * Daily Mail *
A bestseller in Japan, this charming book offers practical cleaning tips as well as fascinating insights into the Buddhist approach to life, which counters the wastefulness of modern society with a respect for spaces and objects that is deeply humane ... Ideal preparatory reading for the January clean -- PD Smith * Guardian *

You may also be interested in...

Meditations
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
You Can Heal Your Life
Added to basket
The Screwtape Letters
Added to basket
The Tipping Point
Added to basket
Easy Tarot
Added to basket
The Odyssey
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Holy Bible
Added to basket
£20.00
Leather / fine binding
The Egyptian Myths
Added to basket
The Greek and Roman Myths
Added to basket
The Myth Of Sisyphus
Added to basket
Meditations
Added to basket
£4.99
Paperback
The Greek Myths
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Doors of Perception
Added to basket
The Myth of Sisyphus
Added to basket

“Charming”

This is a lovely little self help guide, perfect for fans of Marie Kondo, or anyone trying to live more mindfully.

Matsumoto walks us through a monk's daily routine, focusing on the cleaning rituals, and... More

Paperback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 38

“Repetitive ”

This was a very dull read. Nothing insightful

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

“Not for me ”

It's good if it's for you but it was not what I was looking for so I returned.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.