A Memory Called Empire - Teixcalaan (Hardback)
  • A Memory Called Empire - Teixcalaan (Hardback)
zoom

A Memory Called Empire - Teixcalaan (Hardback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 464 Pages / Published: 04/04/2019
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

This incredible opening to the duology recalls the best of John le Carre, Iain M. Banks's Culture novels and Ann Leckie's Imperial Radch trilogy.

In a war of lies she seeks the truth . . .

Ambassador Mahit Dzmare travels to the Teixcalaanli Empire's interstellar capital, eager to take up her new post. Yet when she arrives, she discovers her predecessor was murdered. But no one will admit his death wasn't accidental - and she might be next.

Now Mahit must navigate the capital's enticing yet deadly halls of power, to discover dangerous truths. And while she hunts for the killer, Mahit must somehow prevent the rapacious Empire from annexing her home: a small, fiercely independent mining station.

As she sinks deeper into an alien culture that is all too seductive, Mahit engages in intrigues of her own. For she's hiding an extraordinary technological secret, one which might destroy her station and its way of life. Or it might save them from annihilation.

A Memory Called Empire is book one in the Teixcalaan duology.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781529001570
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 734 g
Dimensions: 242 x 163 x 45 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved it -- Ann Leckie
A cutting, beautiful, human adventure about cultural exchange, identity, and intrigue. The best SF novel I've read in the last five years -- Yoon Ha Lee
An intricate, layered tale of empire, personal ambition, political obligations and interstellar intrigue. Vivid and delightfully inventive -- Aliette de Bodard
An elegant and accomplished example of the subgenre of subtle scheming with a background of stars. A delightful read. I couldn't put it down -- Jo Walton
An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov -- Elizabeth Bear
A cunningly plotted, richly imagined tale of interstellar intrigue that does something new with space opera -- Ken MacLeod
In A Memory Called Empire Arkady Martine smuggles you into her interstellar diplomatic pouch, and takes you on the most thrilling ride ever. This book has everything I love: identity crises, unlikely romance, complicated politics, and cunning adventurers. Super-fun, and ultra-fascinating -- Charlie Jane Anders
A Memory Called Empire is a murder mystery wrapped up in a political space opera, and deeply immerses the reader in a unique culture and society. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to what Martine does next -- Martha Wells
Arkady Martine's first novel is a thrillingly smart space opera with grand scope. Everything's here: plots and counterplots, political manoeuvring, great writing, and brilliant ideas on language and empire. Like Iain M. Banks, she's created a universe that can spawn a hundred books. Hop on now, people -- Daryl Gregory
Exquisite and smart as hell -- Fran Wilde
Gorgeously crafted . . . Martine allows the backstory to unroll slowly . . . walking delicately upon the tightrope of intrigue and partisan battles in the streets to safely bring the tale to a poignantly true conclusion. Readers will eagerly await the planned sequels to this impressive debut -- Publishers Weekly starred review

You may also be interested in...

Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
The Atlas Six
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
Book of Night
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Book of Night
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Sea of Tranquility
Added to basket
Wild and Wicked Things
Added to basket
Sistersong
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Solo Leveling, Vol. 1 (manga)
Added to basket
With This Kiss
Added to basket
These Violent Delights
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Shadow of the Gods
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
House of Sky and Breath
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback

“An elegant and multilayered space opera”

This is a book that I knew from first glance would be very much My Thing. A space opera/hard scifi book focusing on political manoeuvring but also a murder mystery, with a female protagonist. That's already more... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 24
Angie Groves at Blackpool

“A fantastic political space opera”

When i started reading this, i wasn't sure it was for me, that changed with a chapter. The characters are heroic, flawed and full of life. The story is part murder mystery, part political thriller, set against... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

“Political machinations and poetry”

Mahit is sent to the Empire's capital to replace her murdered predecessor as ambassador for her mining station. She is tasked with finding out what happened to the ambassador and continuing to prevent the Empire... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.