Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
A Man Called Ove (Paperback)
  • A Man Called Ove (Paperback)
zoom

A Man Called Ove (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99 £6.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 07/05/2015
  • Save £2.00
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's US.

New York Times bestseller

'Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving' Daily Mail

'Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it' Spectator Books of the Year

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible...

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444775815
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 220 g
Dimensions: 198 x 131 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Delightful ... the perfect holiday read. * Evening Standard *
It's the most enchanting, beautiful tale. -- Ben Fogle
A warm and tender story about love, loss and second chances, peppered with memorable characters, wonderful set pieces and some beautifully black humour. Ove is a joy from start to finish. -- Gavin Extence, author of The Universe versus Alex Woods
An uplifting, life-affirming and often comic tale of how kindness, love and happiness can be found in the most unlikely places. * Sunday Express *
A charming debut. * People *

You may also be interested in...

Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Middle England
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Blood of Rome (Eagles of the Empire 17)
Added to basket
The Death of the Fronsac: A Novel
Added to basket
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An Unsuitable Match
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“A very funny and deeply loving read about a not average grumpy old man”

Once in a while a book comes around that is so beautifully crafted that you read every sentence as carefully as possible so you can relish each word within its pages to its fullest extent. A Man Called Ove is one such... More

Paperback edition
26th May 2015
Helpful? Upvote 90

“Wonderful!”

I laughed and I am wiping away tears as I finish - Ove is one of the greatest characters I have ever encountered. He is so stoic and has such dignity, this coupled with a very black and white view of life makes him... More

Paperback edition
14th June 2015
Helpful? Upvote 86

“Will make you laugh and cry”

Meet Ove a middle aged grumpy man who hates men in white shirts,people who don't park in the correct place and don't drive a Saab !
Behind all this grumpy behaviour is a sad tale but hope comes in the form... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
7th October 2015
Helpful? Upvote 79

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.