A Man Called Ove (Paperback)
  • A Man Called Ove (Paperback)
zoom

A Man Called Ove (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 320 Pages
Published: 07/05/2015
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A bittersweet delight about the grumpiest man in the world and the community that thaws his heart, Backman’s bestseller is a perfect blend of wit, warmth and poignant prose. 

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's Us.

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible...

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781444775815
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 220 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Delightful ... the perfect holiday read. - Evening Standard

It's the most enchanting, beautiful tale. - Ben Fogle

A warm and tender story about love, loss and second chances, peppered with memorable characters, wonderful set pieces and some beautifully black humour. Ove is a joy from start to finish. - Gavin Extence, author of The Universe versus Alex Woods

An uplifting, life-affirming and often comic tale of how kindness, love and happiness can be found in the most unlikely places. - Sunday Express

A charming debut. - People

You may also be interested in...

The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Intermezzo
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Intermezzo
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Wonderful!”

I laughed and I am wiping away tears as I finish - Ove is one of the greatest characters I have ever encountered. He is so stoic and has such dignity, this coupled with a very black and white view of life makes him... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 156

“A very funny and deeply loving read about a not average grumpy old man”

Once in a while a book comes around that is so beautifully crafted that you read every sentence as carefully as possible so you can relish each word within its pages to its fullest extent. A Man Called Ove is one such... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 154

“Will make you laugh and cry”

Meet Ove a middle aged grumpy man who hates men in white shirts,people who don't park in the correct place and don't drive a Saab !
Behind all this grumpy behaviour is a sad tale but hope comes in the form... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 141

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: