A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)
  • A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)
  • A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)
  • A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)
  • A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)
zoom
A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback) A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback) A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)

A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)

(author)
£6.99 £5.99
Paperback Published: 04/06/2020
  • Save £1.00
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

When Addie decides to memorialise the victims of the historic witch trials that took place in her hometown, she hopes to change the way her neighbours see her. Beautifully judged and peppered with wit and compassion, A Kind of Spark is truly inspirational reading.  

Exclusive Edition - contains a letter from Elle to her younger self and the first chapter of her next book Show Us Who You Are

Winner of the Blue Peter Prize for Best Story 2021

Waterstones Children's Book of the Month for July 2021

A Kid of Spark tells the story of 11-year-old Addie as she campaigns for a memorial in memory of the witch trials that took place in her Scottish hometown. Addie knows there's more to the story of these 'witches', just like there is more to hers.

Can Addie challenge how the people in her town see her, and make her voice heard? A story about friendship, courage and self-belief, perfect for fans of The Goldfish BoyAddie’s story was born from Elle’s own experiences of neurodiversity and her commitment to seeing greater representation in children’s books.

Publisher: Knights Of Media
ISBN: 9781913311223


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Definitive and funny.' - Susin Nielsen

'A fabulous, brilliant debut.' - Lisa Thompson

Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week

The Times Children's Book of the Week

Holly Smale, Elle McNicoll and Abigail Balfe in conversation with Cerrie Burnell

Holly Smale, Elle McNicoll and Abigail Balfe in conversation with Cerrie Burnell

Online Events
Thursday 12th August 19:30

Join us online for an inspiring conversation about disability representation in YA and children’s fiction, and how being autistic has influenced the authors writing.

View

You may also be interested in...

Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Dragon
Added to basket
Bunny vs Monkey and the League of Doom!
Added to basket
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
Serpent & Dove
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Oi Aardvark!
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Fear Street the Beginning
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
It's Behind You
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Amari and the Night Brothers
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Cinderella Is Dead
Added to basket
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lizzie | @littlehux

“An essential read for any autistic person”

Okay so I have to tell you about A Kind of Spark by ⁠
Elle McNicol which is one of the best novels and representations of autistic people I have ever read. The story follows Addie, a young autistic girl, who campaigns... More

Paperback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 52

“Superb”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy, I had seen a few good nods to it, but had absolutely no expectations.
Let me tell you, this captured my heart from the VERY FIRST LINE, it gave me absolutely no... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 35

“Sparkling!”

This book fizzes with intelligence, humour, and empathy.
It's a great read and affirms the value of each of the characters, no matter how they think.
Highly recommended.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.