A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)
  • A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)
  • A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)
  • A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)
  • A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)
zoom
A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback) A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback) A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)

A Kind of Spark: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)

(author)
£6.99 £5.99
Paperback Published: 04/06/2020
  • Save £1.00
  • 10+ in stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

When Addie decides to memorialise the victims of the historic witch trials that took place in her hometown, she hopes to change the way her neighbours see her. Beautifully judged and peppered with wit and compassion, A Kind of Spark is truly inspirational reading.  

Exclusive Edition - contains a letter from Elle to her younger self and the first chapter of her next book Show Us Who You Are

Winner of the Blue Peter Prize for Best Story 2021

Waterstones Children's Book of the Month for July 2021

A Kind of Spark tells the story of 11-year-old Addie as she campaigns for a memorial in memory of the witch trials that took place in her Scottish hometown. Addie knows there's more to the story of these 'witches', just like there is more to hers.

Can Addie challenge how the people in her town see her, and make her voice heard? A story about friendship, courage and self-belief, perfect for fans of The Goldfish BoyAddie’s story was born from Elle’s own experiences of neurodiversity and her commitment to seeing greater representation in children’s books.

Publisher: Knights Of Media
ISBN: 9781913311223


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Definitive and funny.' - Susin Nielsen

'A fabulous, brilliant debut.' - Lisa Thompson

Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week

The Times Children's Book of the Week

You may also be interested in...

Alex Neptune, Dragon Thief
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The World's Worst Pets
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Taking the Blame
Added to basket
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Spooky Stories
Added to basket
Slime
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Being Good
Added to basket
The School for Good and Evil
Added to basket
The Last Bear
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nura and the Immortal Palace
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Onyeka and the Academy of the Sun
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Skandar and the Unicorn Thief
Added to basket
Noah's Gold
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Boy Who Got Accidentally Famous
Added to basket
Dead Good Detectives
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
While the Storm Rages
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lizzie | @littlehux

“An essential read for any autistic person”

Okay so I have to tell you about A Kind of Spark by ⁠
Elle McNicol which is one of the best novels and representations of autistic people I have ever read. The story follows Addie, a young autistic girl, who campaigns... More

Paperback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 67

“Superb”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy, I had seen a few good nods to it, but had absolutely no expectations.
Let me tell you, this captured my heart from the VERY FIRST LINE, it gave me absolutely no... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 49

“Sparkling!”

This book fizzes with intelligence, humour, and empathy.
It's a great read and affirms the value of each of the characters, no matter how they think.
Highly recommended.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 43

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.