A Jungian Approach to Spontaneous Drawing: A Window on the Soul (Paperback)
  • A Jungian Approach to Spontaneous Drawing: A Window on the Soul (Paperback)
zoom

A Jungian Approach to Spontaneous Drawing: A Window on the Soul (Paperback)

(author)
£28.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 04/10/2019
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

In A Jungian Approach to Spontaneous Drawing, Patricia Anne Elwood provides an accessible and thought-provoking introduction to exploring spontaneous images, focusing on the value of this tool as an insight into the unconscious. Illustrated with client drawings throughout, the book poignantly demonstrates how one can connect and access the spheres within through drawing, and how this process can reveal the unexpected.

Elwood begins by accessibly introducing key Jungian ideas and exploring Jung's belief in the power of spontaneous art as an invaluable tool in one's journey to the soul. As well as illuminating spontaneity, an oft-forgotten aspect of Jung's psychology, she explores themes including structure and dynamics, symbols and archetypal patterns, applying them to Jungian concepts. A Jungian Approach to Spontaneous Drawing also examines common motifs including houses, trees and people, and presents extended studies of work with children and adults and how their drawings relate and reveal Jungian ideas. Offering both practical and theoretical perspectives, this book demonstrates the universal benefits of spontaneous drawing for all age groups, helping clients find true release from unconscious blockages and traumas lying dormant in the depths of their own psyche.

A Jungian Approach to Spontaneous Drawing will be essential reading for Jungian analysts, Jungian psychotherapists and analytical psychologists in practice and in training, as well as art therapists with an interest in Jungian ideas, and those working with children and adults. It would also be of immense interest to students on courses including art psychotherapy, counselling psychology, Jungian psychology with art therapy, and those in the helping professions.

Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
ISBN: 9780367209704
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 248 x 171 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"This is a much-needed book on Image, Symbol, Jung and Therapy. Elwood's style is very unique in a positive and readable way. The book is paradoxical - it's well anchored in theory, substantial on facts and method and yet poetic and meditative at the same time. Her style pulls the reader in and the reader stays to reflect. I found it to be such a rich experience. This book is an essential resource for analysts, mental health practitioners and graduate students in psychotherapy and art therapy." - John Allan, PhD, Professor Emeritus, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada; Jungian analyst, and author of Inscapes of the Child's World: Jungian Counselling in Schools and Clinics

"Patricia Elwood's book invites the reader into the breath-taking creative world of C.G. Jung. Not only does the author offer a comprehensive, very readable, precis of the principal tenets of Jung's analytical psychology, but at the same time Elwood offers an in-depth appreciation of spontaneous artwork. As the unconscious reveals the wealth of its images, the author leads the reader forward to a deeper understanding of their own self. This fine, insightful book is truly an encounter with the Soul. It is a gift to all explorers of the psyche and spiritual seekers." - Susan Tiberghien, lecturer and author, Writing Towards Wholeness

"Following in the tradition of C.G. Jung and Susan Bach, the author demonstrates and explains incredible revelations to be discovered through spontaneous drawing: truly A Window to the Soul! Simple images of trees, houses, human and animal figures are shown to reveal inner dynamics, helping us to better understand the nature of the psyche and its influence on our ways of being."- Dr Robert Hinshaw, PhD, C. G. Jung Institute, Zurich

You may also be interested in...

Other Minds
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Thinking, Fast and Slow
Added to basket
12 Rules for Life
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Have You Eaten Grandma?
Added to basket
Saltwater
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Happy Brain
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Silent Guides
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Paperback
Why We Sleep
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
How to Be Human
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Brave New Girl
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Body Keeps the Score
Added to basket
The Farm
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Descent of Man
Added to basket
The Idiot Brain
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Break Point
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
My Hidden Chimp
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.