A Gathering Midnight - City of Nightmares (Paperback)
  • A Gathering Midnight - City of Nightmares (Paperback)
zoom

A Gathering Midnight - City of Nightmares (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 10/06/2021
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
'Wildly imaginative ... A brilliant combination of urban fantasy and Arthurian legend, Midnight's Twins will appeal to fans of Gaiman's Neverwhere or Schwab's A Darker Shade Of Magic.' Katharine Corr, author of A THRONE OF SWANS 'A highly imaginative urban fantasy that offers a twist on the Arthurian legend as it whisks you away to a dream world full of wonder, mystery and nightmarish danger.' Bex Hogan, author of ISLES OF STORM AND SORROW (praise for MIDNIGHT'S TWINS) 'Lyrical writing, powerful politics and epic world-building, Race's Midnight's Twins is a unique and vivid story of hope and belonging' Michelle Kenney, author of BOOK OF FIRE In a city that sleeps, the darkness is gathering ... For Londoner Fern King, Annwn is her second home - the dream mirror of London, the city she loves. An astonishing world, a world where Dreamers walk in their slumber, their dreams playing out all around them. And Fern, along with her twin brother Ollie, is now a Knight, a trusted guardian and protector of those Dreamers - and every night is spent in Annwn, fulfilling that previously only-imagined destiny to guard those who sleep. But Annwn, this dark and golden city, is a fragile place. There are those who seek to control and to ruin it - mistrust and secrets are rife, and as the delicate symbiotic balance between Annwn and our own world begins to topple, rips begin to appear between the fabric of the worlds. And Fern and Ollie will have to do all in their power to protect this place that has become so precious to them ...

Publisher: Hot Key Books
ISBN: 9781471410291
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 303 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Holly Race's debut novel is a complex, inventive fantasy adventure that builds suspense and holds our attention...Race is an author to watch * BOOKS FOR KEEPS (praise for MIDNIGHT'S TWINS) *
Midnight's Twins had me gripped from the very first line. It's wildly imaginative, and I love that it's focused on the sibling bond (Fern and Ollie completely captured my heart!) and set in an alternative, dreamscaped London. The world building is excellent - the streets and inhabitants of Annwn really came to life in Race's prose. A brilliant combination of urban fantasy and Arthurian legend, Midnight's Twins will appeal to fans of Gaiman's Neverwhere or Schwab's A Darker Shade Of Magic. -- Katharine Corr
Lyrical writing, powerful politics, & epic world-building, Race's Midnight's Twins is a unique and vivid story of hope & belonging, I couldn't put it down -- Michelle Kenney
A gripping YA fantasy that plunges the reader into a nightmarish mirror world where dreams can literally kill you. I could not put it down. -- Elizabeth Corr

You may also be interested in...

Megamonster
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Midnight Sun
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
We Hunt the Flame
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Magic Pet Shop: Kitticorn
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Cinderella Is Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dragon City
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Serpent & Dove
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Court of Mist and Fury
Added to basket
Six Crimson Cranes
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“A brilliant follow up.”

This continues the story of Fern and her twin Ollie in their fight to save the dream land of Anwynn. It deals with the fallout from the events of the last book well, whilst continuing the story with pace. There is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A fabulous read!”

A Gathering Midnight succeeds as both a novel of the human condition, and an intimate look at the struggles of growing-up. It’s a brilliant follow-up to Midnight’s Twins, developing the story and leaving the reader on... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Wasn't overwhelmed”

I liked this story as it dealt with issues of pressure on yourself, the struggle when you are different and how important imagination is. I struggled with the pace of this book in places but loved that they put a spin... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.