A Famished Heart - The Vincent Swan Mysteries (Paperback)
  • A Famished Heart - The Vincent Swan Mysteries (Paperback)
zoom

A Famished Heart - The Vincent Swan Mysteries (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 27/02/2020
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
*** SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB STAR PICK *** *** AN IRISH TIMES CRIME BOOK OF THE YEAR *** 'A fabulous closed-room mystery that will keep you guessing' - DENISE MINA 'A terrific new gem of Irish noir, written with a light touch' - SUNDAY TIMES 'Sombre, psychological nuanced and compassionate... gripping' - IRISH TIMES 'Intriguing, compelling and highly entertaining. Formidably impressive' - LIZ NUGENT ________________________________________ THEY DID IT TO THEMSELVES BUT SOMEONE WAS WATCHING The Macnamara sisters hadn't been seen for months before anyone noticed. It was Father Timoney who finally broke down the door, who saw what had become of them. Berenice was sitting in her armchair, surrounded by religious tracts. Rosaleen had crawled under her own bed, her face frozen in terror. Both had starved themselves to death. Francesca Macnamara returns to Dublin after decades in the US, to find her family in ruins. Meanwhile, Detectives Vincent Swan and Gina Considine are convinced that there is more to the deaths than suicide. Because what little evidence there is, shows that someone was watching the sisters die... A beautiful and haunting mystery, perfect for readers of Val McDermid, Denise Mina, Tana French and Jo Spain. ________________________________________ 'Fabulous Dublin-based crime. Very much in the vein of Tana French' - JO SPAIN 'Thrilling... will keep you guessing until the very end' - MY WEEKLY 'This creeps up on you until you're hooked' - HEAT 'Infused with depth, darkness and acute psychological drama' - HERALD

Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781788164085
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 250 g
Dimensions: 200 x 130 x 25 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
'Fabulous Dublin-based crime. Dark, atmospheric, well-written. Very much in the vein of Tana French' -- Jo Spain, bestselling author of The Confession
'An intriguing, compelling and highly entertaining story. Formidably impressive writing!' -- Liz Nugent, award-winning author of Unravelling Oliver
'A fabulous closed room mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end. This is a gorgeously poetic deep-dive into the pieties and myth-making of Dublin in the early eighties' -- Denise Mina, acclaimed author of Conviction
'A terrific new gem of Irish noir, written with a light touch but a firm command of character, mannerisms and speech' * Sunday Times *
'Sombre, psychologically nuanced and compassionate... as gripping as it is disturbing' * Irish Times *
'Thrilling... will keep you guessing until the very end' * My Weekly *
'This creeps up on you until you're hooked' * Heat *
'An intriguing and haunting story that will appeal to lovers of the Irish police procedural' * NB Magazine *
'Infused with depth, darkness and acute psychological drama. Her polished prose comes studded with original imagery and her dialogue crackles. We are propelled towards an explosive denouement which, artfully, doubles as a kind of moral reckoning' * Herald *
'Set in 1980s Dublin, staunch and stoic Catholic tones measure the pace and impregnate the complexity of A Famished Heart' * Business Day *

You may also be interested in...

I Follow You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
Exit
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Daylight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Feast
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
The Therapist
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Law of Innocence
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Win
Added to basket
Win
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Judas Horse
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Suri

“A Famished Heart”

Two sister haven’t been seen for months until one day Father Timoney breaks down their door and finds they have starved themselves to death. But some people aren’t really convinced that this was a suicide and believe... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“An Enjoyable Read.”

Set in Dublin, this Irish thriller will have your attention from the very start. The Macnamara sisters have not been seen by anyone for months. Their niece approaches the local parish priest for help and when he... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.