A Family Secret - The Mill Town Lasses (Paperback)
  • A Family Secret - The Mill Town Lasses (Paperback)
zoom

A Family Secret - The Mill Town Lasses (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 04/02/2021
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The brand new novel from Libby Ashworth, set in the mill towns of Lancashire. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Val Wood.
______________________

'The doyen of the Northern saga, Catherine Cookson, would have loved this gritty tale'
Peterborough Telegraph
______________________

Will she follow her head or her heart?

Lancashire, 1842

Sixteen-year-old Bessie works long hours as a weaver in Blackburn, helping to support her family. Meanwhile, her older sister Peggy works as an apprentice at the Girls' School, hoping for a more prosperous future as a schoolteacher.

Jennet and Titus Eastwood have always made decisions for their daughters' futures. But as the sisters near adulthood they are determined to make their own choices. And with temptation in the way, will the girls find love - or infatuation - leads them astray?

Then an unexpected but familiar face arrives in town, and the family's future is threatened. For Bessie and Jennet, a difficult choice must be made - love or family . . .
______________________

Praise for Libby Ashworth

'Brimming with drama, heartbreak, love, friendship and the powerful bonds of family' Lancashire Post

'Engrossing tale of hardship, struggles, love and family' Kitty Neale

'Vividly drawn characters . . . gritty and heartfelt . . . a must-read' Evie Grace

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781787463585
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 286 g
Dimensions: 197 x 129 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Authentic and emotion-packed * Lancashire Post *
The doyen of the Northern saga, Catherine Cookson, would have loved this gritty tale * Peterborough Telegraph *

You may also be interested in...

Ridge Hill
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Valley of Horses
Added to basket
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Stories of the Raksura
Added to basket
Hallam Square
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Black Moon
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Life's Music
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Angry Tide
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Woman of Substance
Added to basket
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
Welcome Home
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Salem Street
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Daughter's Disgrace
Added to basket
A Mother's Secret
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Cities of the Plain
Added to basket

“Historical Fiction”

The Mill Town Lasses #3

Lancaster, 1842: Sixteen year old Bessie works long hours as a weaver in Blackburn, helping to support the family. Meanwhile, her older sister Peggy works as an apprentice at a Girl's... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0
GraceJReviewerlady.net

“Beautifully Written, Well Crafted Saga!”

The third book in this series, and an excellent stand-alone read!

Bessie is a expert weaver at the local mill and her wages go to help keep the family. Her older sister, Peggy, works as an apprentice at the local... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.