A Death in Bali: A Jenna Murphy Mystery - Jenna Murphy Mysteries (Hardback)
  • A Death in Bali: A Jenna Murphy Mystery - Jenna Murphy Mysteries (Hardback)
zoom

A Death in Bali: A Jenna Murphy Mystery - Jenna Murphy Mysteries (Hardback)

(author)
£20.99
Hardback 344 Pages / Published: 15/03/2018
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

Intrepid young curator-turned-private eye Jenna Murphy-whom readers first met in A Head in Cambodia-goes to the tourist town of Ubud to study early twentieth-century Balinese painting. But her first discovery when she arrives in Indonesia is the speared body of expat artist Flip Hendricks. She soon is working with an old friend, a detective for the Ubud police force, to seek the killer. Jenna suspects the motive for the killing has to do with Flip's paintings. Detective Wayan Tyo is not so sure.

Is Jenna right, or are there other forces at work in this paradise overrun with tourists? The threats to Jenna's safety pile up, until she can no longer deny that her life is in danger. Her entanglement with various men only clouds her judgment and complicates the situation.

As she did in the first Jenna Murphy book, in A Death in Bali, Nancy Tingley draws on her extensive experience as a scholar of Asian art to bring the armchair traveler an immersive, inside view of the art world.

Publisher: Ohio University Press
ISBN: 9780804011969
Number of pages: 344
Dimensions: 216 x 140 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for A Head in Cambodia:

"In her stellar debut, Nancy Tingley combines art, murder, and Southeast Asia into a compelling tale. Deftly plotted and expertly executed, Tingley's novel will keep readers up late at night. Jenna Murphy is a curator worth rooting for. We will be hearing more from this talented newcomer." -- Sheldon Siegel, author of Special Circumstances
Praise for A Head in Cambodia:

"In a crowded field of art history whodunits, this first novel stands out ... Jenna, an unabashed sleuth both on and off the job, is a fresh new voice. A great pick for fans of Iain Pears and B.A. Shapiro looking to expand their geography."
Praise for A Head in Cambodia:

"Engaging and atmospheric."
Praise for A Head in Cambodia:

"Nancy Tingley's insider perspective on the detective work involved in authenticating art is a story in itself and worthwhile reading for anyone interested in the mystery of what's fake and what's real in art and antiquities." -- Susan C. Shea, author of the Dani O'Rourke Mysteries and Love and Death in Burgundy
Praise for A Head in Cambodia:

"Nancy Tingley's spellbinding mystery beautifully weaves together lush language, the intricacies of the Asian art world and page-turning tension. Richly rendered scenes follow one upon the other, making the reader wish the book would never end." -- Nina Schuyler, author of The Translator

You may also be interested in...

In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
I'll Keep You Safe
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Wild Fire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
End Game
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Origin
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
After the Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.