A Darker State: The gripping cold war thriller perfect for fans of Robert Harris (Paperback)
  • A Darker State: The gripping cold war thriller perfect for fans of Robert Harris (Paperback)
zoom

A Darker State: The gripping cold war thriller perfect for fans of Robert Harris (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 08/02/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
FOR THE STASI, IT'S NOT JUST THE TRUTH THAT GETS BURIED . . . A gripping thriller set in 1970s East Germany, perfect for fans of Child 44, Phillip Kerr and Martin Cruz Smith. The body of a teenage boy is found weighted down in a lake. Karin Muller, newly appointed Major of the People's Police, is called to investigate. But her power will only stretch so far, when every move she makes is under the watchful eye of the Stasi. Then, when the son of Muller's team member goes missing, it quickly becomes clear that there is a terrifying conspiracy at the heart of this case, one that could fast lead Muller and her young family into real danger. Can she navigate this complex political web and find the missing boy, before it's too late? Praise for CWA Award-winning David Young 'Young is excellent at describing terrible injustice, mass and personal, by way of a strong plot and a sympathetic woman' The Times 'A Darker State is gripping, thrilling and very, very good' William Ryan 'Masterful. . . an intricate, absorbing page-turner' Daily Express 'This fast-paced thriller hooks the readers from the start' The Sun 'Superb. A thrilling Cold War mystery that reminded me of Robert Harris at his best' Mason Cross 'Up there with Martin Cruz Smith and the other greats of the field' Abir Mukherjee 'Masterful . . . a cracking debut' David Jackson

Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
ISBN: 9781785763939
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 198 g
Dimensions: 178 x 111 x 23 mm

You may also be interested in...

To Die But Once
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The House Across the Street
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Revelation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Stranger
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Mitford Murders
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The House Between Tides
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Tombland
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Breathe
Added to basket
£17.99
Hardback
Tombland
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Ghost Tree
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
The Last Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Way of All Flesh
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
A Necessary Evil
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
Linda Hepworth

“A Dark and Engaging Thriller”

Set in Stasi controlled East Germany in the 1970s this is the third book in a series which features Karin Müller, a murder squad detective based in East Berlin. When the story starts she is still on maternity leave... More

Paperback edition
5th February 2018
Helpful? Upvote 11

“East Is East”

Set during the Cold War I found it unusual that we were actually behind the Iron Curtain and not in a "those awful Socialists way". Instead this is very much a procedural set within the confines... More

Paperback edition
4th February 2018
Helpful? Upvote 9

“A gripping thriller”


I was hesitant to try this book as it setting in 1970’s East Germany is completely alien to me. However, I soon found I was struggling to put the book down and I was delighted to realise I can now go back and read... More

Paperback edition
2nd February 2018
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.