A Close Run Thing (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 1) - Matthew Hervey (Paperback)
  • A Close Run Thing (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 1) - Matthew Hervey (Paperback)
  • A Close Run Thing (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 1) - Matthew Hervey (Paperback)
  • A Close Run Thing (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 1) - Matthew Hervey (Paperback)
zoom
A Close Run Thing (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 1) - Matthew Hervey (Paperback) A Close Run Thing (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 1) - Matthew Hervey (Paperback)

A Close Run Thing (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 1) - Matthew Hervey (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 528 Pages / Published: 01/03/2000
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

From the Sunday Times bestselling author Allan Mallinson, a riveting read with the perfect combination of hero, history and adventure - perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian and Bernard Cornwell.

"Convincingly drawn, perfectly paced and expertly written...A Joy to read" - Antony Beevor.

"I can't wait to read the next in the series..." - ***** Reader review.
"A captivating read..."- ***** Reader review.
"Allan Mallinson is a truly gifted storyteller..."- ***** Reader review.

*************************************************************************


Waterloo 1815. The war against Napoleon Bonaparte is raging to its bloody end at Waterloo.

A young officer - Cornet Matthew Hervey - going about his duty suddenly finds himself at the crux of events.
The decisions he has to make - both military and romantic - will change the course of his life, and possible have far reaching political consequences...

A Close Run Thing is the first book in Allan Mallinson's Matthew Hervey series. His adventures continue in The Nizam's Daughters.

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9780553507133
Number of pages: 528
Weight: 357 g
Dimensions: 198 x 127 x 33 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'Now at last a highly literate, deeply read cavalry officer of high rank shows one the nature of horse-borne warfare in those times: and Colonel Mallinson's A Close Run Thing is very much to be welcomed.' * Patrick O'Brian *
'As astonishingly impressive debut...Convincingly drawn, perfectly paced and expertly written...A joy to read' -- Antony Beevor
'The scope of A Close Run Thing is quite breathtaking...A sustained piece of bravura writing' * Observer *
'The account of the Battle of Waterloo is an imaginative feat of high order, owing as much as to thorough scholarship as it does to compassion and sensibility. Brilliantly conveyed.' * Daily Telegraph *
'Allan Mallinson's grasp of the technical side of his subject is effortless and impressive...The portrayal of the men of all ranks is excellent. * Spectator *

You may also be interested in...

Sharpe's Fortress
Added to basket
Sharpe's Sword
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Hundred Days
Added to basket
The Gladiator (Eagles of the Empire 9)
Added to basket
Wounds of Honour: Empire I
Added to basket
Sharpe's Tiger
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Desolation Island
Added to basket
The Thirteen-gun Salute
Added to basket
Sharpe's Rifles
Added to basket
The Far Side of the World
Added to basket
The Fort
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Letter of Marque
Added to basket
The Iron King
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Fortune of War
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.