A Clock Stopped Dead (Paperback)
  • A Clock Stopped Dead (Paperback)
zoom

A Clock Stopped Dead (Paperback)

(author)
? RRP £8.99
£7.49
Save £1.50 (17%)
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 11/04/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect for fans of Richard Osman and Janice Hallett, Hall's twist-laden slice of cosy crime finds three retired teachers-cum-amateur sleuths emboiled in the case of a sinister charity shop that vanishes into thin air.

Retired schoolteachers and amateur sleuths Liz, Pat and Thelma are giving up their coffee morning for a brand-new mystery.

Retired teachers Pat, Liz and Thelma are happiest whiling away their hours over coffee, cake and chat at the Thirsk Garden Centre café.

But when their good friend tells them about an unsettling experience she had in a sinister-feeling charity shop, they simply can’t resist investigating…

Because the entire shop has vanished into thin air.

Before long, our trio of unlikely sleuths find themselves embroiled in a race against the clock to get to the bottom of this mystery – but who has a secret to hide and how far will they go to keep it concealed?

Only time will tell…

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008606923
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 360 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for J.M. Hall: ‘Warm characters and wonderful writing… It’s steeped in Yorkshire like a mug of hot, strong tea… I loved it’ SJ Bennett, author of The Windsor Knot ‘An absorbing read about everyday life falling foul of murder’ Faith Martin, author of Murder by Candlelight 'Fun, fresh and fatal. Hall is on simply sparkling form, a stone-cold cosy classic. A riot from front to back.' Jonathan Whitelaw, author of The Village Hall Vendetta 'Starring a trio of engaging heroines, reading A Clock Stopped Dead was an excellent use of time! J.M. Hall has mastered the warmth of a perfect modern cosy crime with all the twists and turns that go with it. I really enjoyed it!' Hannah Hendy ‘So warm, funny and relatable – there’s proper twists and turns, and a very satisfying conclusion. Goes from strength to strength.’ Fiona Leitch 'I love the way J.M. Hall writes. This book has style and attention to detail but above all it shines through with compassion for everyday lives and concerns, and that makes it much more than a mystery.' Oskar Jensen ‘‘I loved this book. Hall writes with winning charm, wit, humour about Yorkshire. This novel had me gripped and chuckling from the start, especially the warmth and tensions between the crime solving trio of former teachers. Three strong women, lots of hot tea, and a devilishly clever plot. You’ll love it.’ Suk Pannu

You may also be interested in...

Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
Murder on the Orient Express
Added to basket
Murder in the Family
Added to basket
Hallowe'en Party
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Inspector Imanishi Investigates
Added to basket
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd
Added to basket
The Honjin Murders
Added to basket
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
Added to basket
Death Under a Little Sky
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Marple: Twelve New Stories
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Turnglass
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The World of Hercule Poirot
Added to basket
Close to Death
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Anna O
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback

“left me wanting more.”

Bizzare, marvellous and a little unnerving in a good way. I didn’t see that one coming…
One of Pat’s friends, stumbles upon a creepy charity shop that suddenly disappears, a psychic connection is assumed but Pat, Liz... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A lovely cozy crime novel”

Retired school teachers - Liz, Pat and Thelma - are investigating a series of mysterious events which may or may not be a crime.

Their friend, Marguerite, has a vision of a charity shop while lost in the fog. On... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Brilliant cozy mystery”

I am really enjoying this series. The characters are so likeable, the mystery is clever. Even if you haven’t read the others you can still follow along. Such an easy read with a great plot. Highly recommend this one.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: