A Boy Made of Blocks (Paperback)
  • A Boy Made of Blocks (Paperback)
zoom

A Boy Made of Blocks (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 416 Pages
Published: 29/12/2016
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

THE RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB AND NUMBER ONE AMAZON BESTSELLER

'The publishing sensation of the year: a compelling, uplifting and heart-rending debut novel'
Mail on Sunday

A Boy Made of Blocks is a funny, heartwarming story of family and love inspired by the author's own experiences with his son, the perfect latest obsession for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes.

A father who rediscovers love

Alex loves his wife Jody, but has forgotten how to show it. He loves his son Sam, but doesn't understand him. He needs a reason to grab his future with both hands.

A son who shows him how to live

Meet eight-year-old Sam: beautiful, surprising - and different. To him the world is a frightening mystery. But as his imagination comes to life, his family will be changed . . . for good.

'One of those wonderful books that makes you laugh and cry at the same time'
Good Housekeeping

'Funny, expertly plotted and written with enormous heart. Readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project will love A Boy Made of Blocks - I did'
Graeme Simsion

'Very funny, incredibly poignant and full of insight. Awesome.'
Jenny Colgan

'Heartwarming'
The Unmumsy Mum

'A wonderful, warm, insightful novel about family, friendship and love'
Daily Mail

'A great plot, with a rare sense of honesty'
Guardian

'A truly beautiful story'
Heat

'A heartwarming and wise story'
Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of The Last Act of Love

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751563290
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 286 g
Dimensions: 195 x 128 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

The publishing sensation of the year: a compelling, uplifting and heart-rending debut novel - Mail on Sunday

A Boy Made of Blocks is constructed around not just a great plot, but a rare sense of honesty and insight. - John Harris, Guardian

Funny, expertly plotted and written with enormous heart. Readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project will love A Boy Made of Blocks - I did - Graeme Simsion

A heart-warming and wise story . . . I shed a few tears but was left with a warm glow - Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of The Last Act of Love

Heartwarming, funny and special. I devoured this cracking book. - The Unmumsy Mum

Very funny, incredibly poignant and full of insight. Awesome. - Jenny Colgan

One of those wonderful books that makes you laugh and cry at the same time - Good Housekeeping

A Boy Made of Blocks is one of those unique and exquisite stories that grab you from the very first line. Searingly honest and poignant . . . tremendously moving. A truly beautiful story. - Heat

Even the hardest of hearts will be warmed by this poignant tale based on the author's life with his autistic son - Mail on Sunday

This is a wonderful, warm, insightful novel about family, friendship and love that tugs at your heart. - Daily Mail

Stuart scatters his rose petals with enough thorns to ensure his often very funny debut will get under the skin . . . a tear-jerker - Claire Allfree, Metro

Be prepared to shed tears (Book of the Week) - Sun

A Boy Made of Blocks is a wonderful read and I imagine that this will be one of many outstanding novels by Keith Stuart. - Huffington Post

This debut is sad, funny and full of heart-melting moments that make tears inevitable. - Daily Express

[A] warm, humorous and touching story about fatherhood and family - Sunday Mirror

This book is incredible. Keith Stuart is a very clever man. - Stuart Heritage

Fans of Nick Hornby with love this funny and moving tale. - Closer

A heartwarming read - Sunday Express

Warm and real, honest and heart-breaking, joyous and life-affirming. It has the lot. - Vanessa Greene

Keith Stuart is a master at balancing humour alongside the serious. He has a light touch but also moves us deeply, and his characters are wonderfully real. Clever and full of insight. - Virginia Macgregor

The characters are well-developed and vulnerable, learning to navigate and make sense of a world filled with obstacles. Stuart's debut novel is a charming and timely tale of learning to connect in the digital age. - Kirkus

An engaging and satisfying read on modern parenting - Your Weekend (New Zealand)

It was refreshing to read a story where the characters flail around, panic, cry, swear, yet ultimately are determined to build little blocks of happiness with those whom they love. - Cath Weeks, The Big Issue

Touching and funny - Autism Eye

An escape, majestic and beautiful, into a world where imagination is the only limit. - Forbes

Heartbreakingly realistic - Phoebe Morgan, author of The Doll House

You may also be interested in...

The Running Grave
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
More Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Added to basket
Tom Lake
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Talking at Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket

“Beautiful, emotional and genuine”

What an absolute delight this book is and how wonderful it is to read a positive, uplifting and thoroughly enjoyable tale about a family's voyage with a child who has autism. I have read other books that deal... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 63
MissVics

“A beautiful debut”

Wonderfully warm, honest and funny. I found this book to be an absolute delight that I couldn't put down.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 58
Whispering Stories

“A beautiful, heart-warming story”

Eight year old Sam is autistic. After years of drifting apart, his mum Jody, as his dad Alex, decide to part company, with Alex being the one to leave the family home.

Alex is in his thirties, and is now living in... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 50

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: