The Testaments out now
A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World (Hardback)
  • A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World (Hardback)
zoom

A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World (Hardback)

(author)
9 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 25/04/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

THE MOST POWERFUL STORY YOU'LL READ THIS YEAR.

'You'll remember A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World long after you finish reading'
Peng Shepherd, author of The Book Of M

'Fletcher's suspenseful, atmospheric tale imagines a near future in which our world is in ruins . . . an adventure saga punctured by a gut-punch twist'
Entertainment Weekly

'Truly engrossing . . . brings hope and humanity to a cold and scary world'
Keith Stuart, author of A Boy Made of Blocks

'I promise you're going to love it'
Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches

'Epic in scope, enthralling, and full of human warmth'
M. R. Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts

THE WORLD HAS ENDED. AT LEAST WE STILL HAVE DOGS.

My name's Griz.
I've never been to school, I've never had friends, in my whole life I've not met enough people to play a game of football. My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, before all the people went away, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.
Then the thief came.
He told stories of the deserted towns and cities beyond our horizons. I liked him - until I woke to find he had stolen my dog. So I chased him out into the ruins of the world.
I just want to get my dog back, but I found more than I ever imagined was possible. More about how the world ended. More about what my family's real story is. More about what really matters.

'This un-put-down-able story has everything - a well-imagined post-apocalyptic world, great characters, incredible suspense, and, of course, the fierce love of some very good dogs'
Kirkus (starred review)

'A story that is as heart-warming as it is heart-breaking'
Fantasy Hive

'A stunningly gorgeous read: masterful storytelling, searingly beautiful prose, and a world so meticulously rendered you'll forget there's a real one going on beyond the pages. A book of the year contender - in any year'
Micah Yongo

'Extraordinary and quite magnificent . . . 10/10'
Starburst

A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World is the most moving story you'll read this year. Perfect for readers of Life of Pi, The Girl with all the Gifts or Station Eleven - Griz's tale mixes sadness and hope in one unforgettable character's quest amid the remnants of our fragile civilisation.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356510910
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 640 g
Dimensions: 236 x 164 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Fletcher's suspenseful, atmospheric tale imagines a near future in which our world is in ruins... An adventure saga punctured by a gut-punch twist -- ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY
Epic in scope, enthralling, and full of human warmth -- M. R. Carey, author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS
This novel has everything I love about a story: fully realised characters, beautiful writing, and utterly believable, even frightening, world-building . . . I promise you're going to love it -- Louisa Morgan, author of A SECRET HISTORY OF WITCHES
A story that is as heart-warming as it is heart-breaking . . . I'm still thinking about this book, weeks after finishing it -- FANTASY HIVE
Family, loyalty, and humanity amid the lonely but beautiful wilderness of the end of the world - with a gut punch you'll never see coming. That twist! That ending! You'll remember A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World long after you finish reading -- Peng Shepherd, author of THE BOOK OF M
Extraordinary and quite magnificent . . . 10/10 -- STARBURST
A stunningly gorgeous read: masterful storytelling, searingly beautiful prose, and a world so meticulously rendered you'll forget there's a real one going on beyond the pages ... A book of the year contender - in any year -- Micah Yongo
Playful, twisty, thought provoking and hugely enjoyable -- RJ Barker
A truly engrossing survival story, which gives us a haunting vision of a ruined Britain that's both dangerous and strangely beautiful. But the real strength of the book its utterly believable lead character whose interplay of vulnerability and strength brings hope and humanity to a cold and scary world -- Keith Stuart, author of A BOY MADE OF BLOCKS
Fletcher does a masterful job keeping the stakes high and the suspense crackling while still creating plenty of space for readers to get to know Griz and explore this fascinating not-quite-empty world. This un-put-down-able story has everything-a well-imagined post-apocalyptic world, great characters, incredible suspense, and, of course, the fierce love of some very good dogs -- KIRKUS (starred review)
"Dogs were with us from the very beginning," says Griz in the first few pages. What happens in this novel will stay with you long past its end -- SHORELINE OF INFINITY

You may also be interested in...

The Outsider
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Fahrenheit 451
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Early Riser
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Last
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
It
Added to basket
It
£10.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
Doctor Sleep
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Institute
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
It
Added to basket
It
£10.99
Paperback
The Shining
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Testaments
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Compelling desolate apocalyptia”

A vividly-imagined and convincing post-humanity Britain, seen through the eyes of one of its last remaining inhabitants. 'Griz', is as compassionate and companionable a protagonist as you could hope for, as... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5
Whispering Stories

“The book is extraordinary”

Just as the author requested at the beginning of the book, to keep reviews spoiler free, I will give you a short introduction into the book.

Griz lives with his parents, his brother Ferg, and his sister Bar, oh and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Haunting, beautiful, heartbreaking”

I'm grateful to Orbit for sending me a free ARC of this book.

"Dogs were with us from the very beginning... Of all the animals that travelled the long road through the ages with us, dogs always walked... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.