The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones (Hardback)
  • The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones (Hardback)
zoom

The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones (Hardback)

(author)
£20.00
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 01/04/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
What to Read in 2021 -The Washington Post

The international bestselling author of the "exciting, suspenseful, inspirational" (Brad Thor, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Code Name: Lise weaves another exceptional and thrilling hidden history of an ordinary American girl who became one of the OSS's most daring spies in World War II before marrying into European nobility. Perfect for fans of A Woman of No Importance and Code Girls.

When Aline Griffith was born in a quiet suburban New York hamlet, no one had any idea that she would go on to live "a life of glamour and danger that Ingrid Bergman only played at in Notorious" (Time). As the US enters the Second World War, the young college graduate is desperate to aid in the war effort, but no one is interested in a bright-eyed young woman whose only career experience is modeling clothes.

Aline's life changes when, at a dinner party, she meets a man named Frank Ryan and reveals how desperately she wants to do her part for her country. Within a few weeks, he helps her join the Office of Strategic Services-forerunner of the CIA. With a code name and expert training under her belt, she is sent to Spain to be a coder, but is soon given the additional assignment of infiltrating the upper echelons of society, mingling with high-ranking officials, diplomats, and titled Europeans, any of whom could be an enemy agent. Against this glamorous backdrop of galas and dinner parties, she recruits sub-agents and engages in deep-cover espionage to counter Nazi tactics in Madrid.

Even after marrying the Count of Romanones, one of the wealthiest men in Spain, Aline secretly continues her covert activities, being given special assignments when abroad that would benefit from her impeccable pedigree and social connections.

Filled with twists, romance, and plenty of white-knuckled adventures fit for a James Bond film, The Princess Spy brings to vivid life the dazzling adventures of a remarkable American woman who risked everything to serve her country.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781982143862
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 535 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 41 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES, WALL STREET JOURNAL, AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER

Featured on Today
What to Read in 2021 by The Washington Post
A Wall Street Journal monthly pick
"[A] real life espionage thriller...Fast-paced, edgy and highly engaging." -The Wall Street Journal
"The Princess Spy is one of the most glamorous and thrilling espionage tales ever told." -Vannessa Cronin, Amazon Book Review
"Loftis, a historian who's written two previous nonfiction spy thrillers, delivers a rich, deeply researched account of Griffith's espionage escapades." -Washington Post
"Filled with glamour, glitz, and mysterious characters...Sumptuous...A lively history of a spirited woman." -Kirkus Reviews
"An entertaining biography [with a] fast-moving narrative...Espionage buffs will be enthralled." -Publishers Weekly
"A richly-detailed narrative full of twists and turns." -Library Journal
"Spellbinding...With splashes of glamour set against dire stakes and covert operations, The Princess Spy is a cross between Code Girls and The Only Woman in the Room ." -BookBub
"[A] thrilling romp across 20th-century Europe filled with intrigue and unforgettable characters, and will have any reader thinking twice about what they're revealing at their next upper-crust cocktail soiree." -Town & Country
"If you enjoy reading about women doing their bit during World War II, you're going to love this." -Woman's Own Magazine (UK)
"[A] meticulously researched, beautifully crafted work of nonfiction that reads like a James Bond thriller." -Bookreporter
"As exciting as any spy novel." -New York Daily News

You may also be interested in...

Agent Sonya
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hitler and Stalin
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Crew
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Lily's Promise
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
Chastise
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Eight Days in May
Added to basket
Operation Jubilee
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Traitor King
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Barbarossa
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Spymaster
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Codebreaking Sisters
Added to basket
The Ratline
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
D-Day Through German Eyes
Added to basket
Mary Churchill's War
Added to basket
The Pathfinders
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Sicily '43
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.